How I Found My GM Tokens

in LeoFinance2 months ago (edited)

I noticed that if you added a #gmfrens tag to a thread once a day, you would be rewarded with 6.9 GM tokens. Since other people were doing this, I decided to give it a try.

Finding GMs

After a few days, I thought I would check to see how many GMs I had been rewarded, but where were they?

First, I checked my PeakD wallet. When I went to "HIVE ENGINE", PeakD had an "error retrieving date from the Hive Engine".

Next, I went to my wallet using InLeo. I was able to open the "HIVE ENGINE", but there were no GM tokens.

Then I tried installing the KeyChain app on my phone, but no GMs were there.

Finally, I installed the KeyChain extension on the Brave browser and found my GMs there.

The GM tokens were visible in my InLeo wallet but not in the KeyChain app.

I tapped on GM in the extension and was surprised to see that the "Total value" of my GM tokens was $0.00 ($0.00/token).

So, did this mean that there was an error or the value of a GM token is really low? My next step was to determine the value of a GM token.

What is the Value of a GM Token?

I searched CoinGecko for GMs and came up with a value of $0.054249 on https://coingecko.com/en/coins/gm

If this were correct, then the problem would be a KeyChain error.

What I didn't realise was that "GM", "LEO", or other searches can take you to different tokens with the same abbreviations.

I suspected that this might be the case, and luckily, @katerinaramm confirmed this and suggested I look at https://hive-engine.com/trade/GM

Today's price is $0.0000437, so there isn't a KeyChain problem. It's just that my GM tokens are worth less than a cent.

Is It Worth Using the gmfrens Tag?

Given that 1 GM is worth $0.0000437 at today's price, the daily earnings are $0.00030153 ($0.0000437 x 6.9). This means that it will take 3316 days (1/0.00030153) or ~ 9 years to earn a dollar.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

This means that it will take 23838 days (1/0.00004195) or ~ 65 years to earn a dollar.

This is correct, but people who are in the crypto space long enough have different ways of seeing the different (types of) tokens :)

Especially for this one, it started as a way to say hi among our community here, at first it was in another chain and then it moved over on hive.

It is not bad to see the profit possibilities when you discuss crypto, but it helps to see beyond that :)

By the way, it is nice to see you investigate and explore our hive-universe :)
!HUG

Thanks for putting a different perspective on this. As a result, I might not stop using #gmfrens because it's good to say, "Good morning, friends" - but I'm really going to have to turn off the auto-replies.

As you know, I like to learn as well as write about learning. The hive universe is another world of learning!

BTW, the tutorial you recommended was excellent. Although I had already stumbled across some aspects of KeyChain, it was really good to see the pieces of the puzzle put together.

Thanks for the HUG. These tips are another area I need to explore and save up for.

Dear @learningpages, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @katerinaramm.
(1/3)

I noticed that if you added a #gmfrens tag to a thread once a day,

Can this be done on Ecency Waves please guide me on this or make a thread from InLEO please can you tell me how you create a thread I forgot help.

I think it can only be done on InLeo. It's not clear how to do it because, in my opinion, InLeo's interface is one of the least intuitive of the dApps.

Anyway, here's how I do it:

  • I go to my InLeo page and click on the "Home" icon.
  • I write and post a Thread at the top of the page.

All my published Threads are on my "Profile".

Thank you so much I will do just that now.

Wow this is a great earning opportunity and perhaps the GM tokens price will eventually increase somehow.

They were going up while I was drafting the post!

CoinGecko listed GM is another token not GM Frens

GM to you & thank you for using the #gmfrens tag on Threads. Listen to the most recent Hive Community Town Hall!

GM tokens are now on Hive Engine! To OPT OUT of comments visit @gmfrens.