Leo Talk 7/26/21 - Come Join Our Chat

in LeoFinance3 years ago

image.png

Here is the post for the Daily Leo Talk. In preparation for the upcoming Microblogging features, this is a good place to start conversations, posts charts, memes, trades, or anything else that comes to mind.

Let us boost our overall numbers by posting lots of comments throughout the day. Spread the word to get others involved.

It is a great way to stimulate engagement.

We can think of this as a Reddit type engagement thread. We are not dealing with long form content so topics of discussion can start off with a top line comment. We can fill in from there.

We are open 24/7/365.

Stay Informed About LEO!

LEO Twitter LEO YouTube LEO Discord LEO 3Speak

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

REMINDER!!!

Get thy #CANDIES while they last. There are a limited supply and your CANDIE jar is running low.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Got my 100 just now. 3380 total (Good thing I need to put on some weight anyway - damn candies!)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

While you're there check out the nice price action ;)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Candies, Hearts & Diamonds collected!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Where do you get hearts and diamonds?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hearts on stakingrewards.com and Diamonds on Coinmarketcap. ✌️

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Got it, thanks for the info!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I got my candies for the day. Tomorrow is the big day for candies and diamonds for me.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Got the big 100
Back to the start now

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Rounded the horn after collecting 100 last time. 10 more today!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Cold war with China? Well the actions they are doing is basically going to hurt a lot of financial interests around the world. I don't think these investors are going to like losing money because of Chinese stocks.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

A very American centric view of the situation.

The reality is yes, China touches the entire supply chain but that is changing after COVID. Companies are diversifying their production.

It will be interesting because the Chinese are exporters, that is their entire economy. The Chinese cannot upset their customer and guess who their largest one is...the US.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Should the spell book needed to start earning NFTs and DEC in Splinterlands cost more?

https://leofinance.io/@niallon11/splinterlands-spell-book-would-be-better-value-at-usd20-than-usd10

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Reminds me. I have some starter cards from something, Steem Monsters maybe?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Then you are able to airdrop.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It may qualify. You can always check your account to see if you qualify.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

No idea. Missed the #splinterlands train, at least the early opportunity.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I believe you haven't lost anything, if you like the style of play, I'm sure you will quickly build a good deck and earn great rewards.

With the opportunity to rent cards, this undoubtedly increased the chances that any player could succeed in the game with little investment. This will help new players a lot.

The SPS airdrop for example will be annual, every day we will gain the token so whoever enters later won't miss out on opportunities. The new expansion is also coming. A game within a game with the implementation of lands.

Well, it's still worth joining my friend. Of course, if you like this style of game.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think you still have time if you want.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

With this huge wave that is having in Splinterlands, I could already imagine how many opportunities the game brings for just $10. A while ago it was discussed whether this value was quite high compared to other games that don't require anything to start playing.

In order for more people to enter Splinterlands I don't see the need to increase the spellbook. Leaving at what value you are will attract a lot more addicts.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yea I don't think it makes sense to increase it yet. But if they do, they should give people a month to sign up before bumping up prices.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That would be fair in my opinion. Good idea!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


Top Line Comment Banner for LeoFinance

Did anyone experience a glitch with the LeoFinance wallet (or Hive Engine)?

I logged in to my -.buzz account to check that wallet in order to transfer to my primary account. Knowing that the -.buzz account has very little HP, I expected a low quantity of Layer 2 tokens in there.

The -.buzz wallet shown by Hive Engine was OK the whole time.

However, to my surprise, I saw that I had over USD 359.00 staked in LEO in there!!

After numerous refreshes, the -.buzz wallet according to LeoFinance showed what I was expecting to see.

I was about to track down the transaction where I saw that large stake when the glitch fixed itself. I didn't see any black cats here or in my apartment, so I have no idea what happened.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is neat. I'm only just learning of it. A kind of in your face way to get HIVE out there on Twitter:

https://leofinance.io/@hiro-hive/ted-cruzs-call-to-action-hive-tips-giveaway-for-tweeting-and-promoting-hive-on-twitter-hivefixesthis-initiative

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's great to hear. I'm starting to see an uptick on Hive-related tweets and posts I'm promoting on Twitter. The tag issue they mention, may be why I'm not seeing the Hive regulars as often.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The CTPSB challenge is going to be starting in a week. If you want, you can start saving up some CTP or start making posts to earn some now.

https://leofinance.io/@ctpsb/ugfuwseu

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The CTP community has always intrigued me, but I have never really got involved.

Do you mind giving us a rundown on this challenge?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The rules last time was to enter with a screenshot of your staked CTP. Afterwards any CTP you staked between that period and the end of the event gave you a portion of the reward pot.

It was kind of meant to get more people to create CTP content and stake it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I didn't even know about this I've been powering them up. I do delegate to brofi though.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Last time it was just staking so if its the same, just sign up and you will get some bonus rewards for doing what you normally do.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Is this different to the CTP token? I just had a look at my holdings and it is different to CTPSB or something.

CTBSB is a separate token and project. It is build around the CTP tribe though.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I try to accumulate my CTP tokens, the community has a lot of nice people and I admire how involved they are.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you for the heads up. I took part in the last and it was good fun look forward to doing it again.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I always add #ctp tag in all of my posts. :))

Free money!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

@forexbrokr

Dane:

I got tired of looking at the research saved on my laptop, so, I decided to go ahead and write an article "Shiba Inu v Dogecoin"

It is published and linked to the Guide already. Use it/ edit it however you please.

I am totally free for the next two weeks so all my time is available. Please let me know if there is anything left with SHIB or in the alternative what your plan is for the next Guide.

Thak you sir!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

A magnetic helmet shrunk a deadly tumor in world-first test We're starting to see more and more advances in the field of #Health that will improve our standard of life.


source

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I am wondering what really caused it and will it work on most cases? I am thinking there will definitely be a ton of new different methods to treat diseases.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Tether has been under a lot of suspicions recently and the interest in CBDCs just makes it worst for them. Digital USD would definitely need them out of the picture in order to thrive.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well Tether itself is centralized and considering its to to BitFinex, I think it was kind of expected since the government wants to hit stable coins. It probably has the easiest information to pursue and try to get.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Here is another edition of our daily @leomarkettalk.

We are into posting links of things that interest us, engaging with other members, and educating all who come in here.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

BTC affecting stock earnings? Well it does make sense that BTC being on their balance sheet will reflect on their public earnings. Will this deter companies away from BTC given the volatility?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Looks like a great tax concession for a business trading in cryptocurrancy. This massive drops means that corporations don't lose because they can offset their losses. It is the everyday people that lose the most.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Actually I am wondering if the corporations will use the wash rule exception to make their profits smaller and reduce taxes paid.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's a business so I rekon they'd be able to claim a loss at tax time and offset against their bigger investments. The house never loses, the people do.

I don't know a lot about tax law it's why I hire someone to do it for me lol But I caught wind of a potential loophole for crypto at the moment here in the USA anyone else know if it?

Since crypto is considered a "property" to the FED it's not like a stock so it can be sold and then bought right after without waiting 30 days like with stocks. That being said what some are doing is selling the crypto at a loss and then buying right back in thus pretty much eliminating any taxes.
*It should go without saying this is not financial or professional advice lol

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I've been hearing about legislation bring proposed to tax unrealized income-- gains made on paper (or in the ether) which haven't been translated to earnings by the act of cashing out. I don't know how true this is, but as some famous people have said:

I have a bad feeling about this.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Pretty sure there is already something in the courts looking to eliminate this. IIRC it had to do with them trying to tax you on things you earned from staking. In other words, they want us to pay taxes on the CUB we receive without us ever selling it. That would be pretty ridiculous since you would never have an actual price on when you received it. Like I said, there are already cases in the courts. I think task posted something about it a week or two ago....

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

My frist impression was that the government is tying to take its cut of the cryptocurrency market. While it would also apply to paper assets such as stocks, crypto is notorious for the astounding gains (and losses) it makes.

On top of that, enforcing that legislation (if signed into law) would requie yet more growth of government; we don't need that.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yea the loophole has been there for a while. Since they don't really keep track of your crypto earnings, you basically only tell them the net gains/losses. So if you sell and buy back in before taxes are applied, you can avoid the taxes.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


Top Line Comment Banner for LeoFinance

The other day I received rewards made in PAY token. I don't mind receiving rewards, but I have no idea where I was when I earned it or how.

I know enough about how to track down the source of my earnings made in HIVE, but I'm doing something wrong in looking for the source of my reward in Layer 2 tokens. It's a lot of transactions between time earned and time payed out, so it can take a while to track down.

How do I trace the source of a payout I received in a Layer 2 token?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is what I love about Hive. I see new tokens from time to time and wonder where in the heck I got them from. The growth of specialized communities allow us to earn an ever-expanding group of tokens. It's a feature I like very much.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

UPDATE

I was able to track down the source of the earned PAY tokens using the LeoFinance My Wallet interface to Hive Engine. I commented on a post I saw in LeoFinance which was tagged to a number of other places (Palnet, Proof of Brain, and Political Hive).

Along the way I figured out how I was able to earn Layer 2 token rewards for content I don't publish.

On the bright side, I can take that payout I recieved in PAY and delegate it to @brofund.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

OOPS....

Hive Engine won't let me delegate PAY tokens. I can only stake them.

So bummer.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Delegations should be going to @brofi if you want BRO tokens.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oops, I did it again...

I went to bed before I saw your reply. I just undelegated, but I have to wait for the undelegations to be confirmed and approved before I can make correct delegations to {@ bro fi}. Thanks for the clarification. Earliest chance I get I will make the 3 delegations to {@ bro fi}.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I noticed a few of those in my wallet too but I had no idea of its existence.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Lol, same. I would look at them next year if they are worth anything. 😂

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'll take my chances and gift them to others. That 4.4e7 of WEED accumulating in my wallet is more useful.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If you find yourself commenting on a post where one of the token tags is PAY, now you know where they come from!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sweet :)

Do you know if that's a new tribe or something? I never noticed that in my wallet until recently

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I remember reading about #political-hive earlier in July. I forget whether the post was in LeoFinance or Proof of Brain. July 22nd is when I earned my PAY tokens, so I'm guessing the post to which I commented was made no earlier than July 14th. It must have been before the 14th that the #political-hive announcement post was made.

I'm sorry for being fuzzy on this. I wasn't planning on acquiring PAY tokens, and then one day I end up with PAY in my wallet and I had no idea how I got it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oh don't worry about that. I was just wondering if you knew more about it. Thanks for the information!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Question.
Is there any chance that in near future we would be seeing the FOREX like mutual funds? I mean once the crypto makes FIAT digital version. Is there any chance of FOREX industry having mutual funds or it already has?

The FOREX industry is likely dying. If the major currencies are reset, then the FOREX market is destroyed just like the Japanese and European bond market.

We will see fund with baskets of crypto. We are already seeing that with Grayscale.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Maybe I can stock up on IDR and IRR and hope they moon before CBDCs render all paper money useless.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Bitcoin is on a nice run. Some are looking at $40K as an important level.

Do you think we get over it?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Amazon hints it will embrace crypto. Maybe this jump is because of this news. But it's a nice one.

Bitcoin is going up anyway. ✌

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I believe we'll get to it but I'm holding back on being too positive about an over $40k continuous climb.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well I think it will take a while to digest the current level but it should go above it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

One more day and I will be back to normal routine. The last couple weeks were sure a pain in the ass.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Due to internet issues? I hope they get resolved soon.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm entering the home stretch before the summer break. It'll be nice to finally have more time to share comments.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oh is the flooring about to be done?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The UK making a push towards CBDC

This is not unexpected. It is happening all over the world. The proposals for a shift to "cryptocurrency" is taking place.

Of course, they mean CBDCs.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Even India is thinking to launch their own CBDC project and research work has been started already. It's happening everywhere like a trend.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I wonder what will happen with Bitcoin, Litecoin etc. when this push matures? Will they try to squeeze the life out of it via regulations?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The idea that CBDCs will change a whole lot doesnt make sense to me. Outside the control, which I understand for politicians, I fail to see how it will change things greatly in terms of economic performance.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's not about performance-- it's about control and power.

For people like us, nothing will change except we're using digital fiat instead of paper fiat.

For politicians, it's a big deal:

  1. Each and every transaction gets recorded-- no more under-the-table dealings;
  2. Once recorded, they become subject to taxing authorities;
  3. Once taxable, more money flows into government accounts for redistribution as politicians wish.

Along the way, busybodies will nag you relentlessly for that spiked quintuple-fudge double banana split they noticed you bought 2 days ago while you tell everyone else to to make ice cream out of almond milk.

There will be unintended side effects from the switch to CBDCs-- especially Digital USD-- but I have no idea what they could be.

This could be the one time normal people consider the drug traffickers the good guys-- that's how insane it could get.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Even the Nigerian government mentioned something like that a few weeks ago. Well, for Nigeria it's an outright joke.

Seeing the 'progress' China has made with theirs is bound to fuel push other governments to take it seriously. What's going to be the effect on crypto as we know it though?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It will make it difficult I imagine for a while. However, it does open the doors as more people will get accustomed to it.

The key in my opinion is to keep building open source, decentralized things so the regulators and governments cant do anything about it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well I think its obvious that every government is pursuing this line of thought since China was the one who pushed for it first. Of course we aren't exactly sure if following China's example is the best though.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have joined splinterlands, but when I play against other players I get something from unclan.

I wanted to ask if there was any leofinance clan? I know it sounds silly but I ask just in case hahaha.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I don't know anything about a clan. I don't even know what 'unclan' means. I haven't encountered that and I've been on and off the game for over a year now.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You are right, the truth is that the translator did not translate it well, I was referring to a clan, that in the game I have seen that many players are in one.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I don't think so because I don't think I have seen one.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

And if they form one? haven't they thought about it?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

@themarkymark, recently published his experience using BitClouds, and I liked the idea so I tried to join, but when I put my phone (which is from Venezuela) I was immediately blocked, I do not know if it is because they have blocked the service for Venezuela or for another reason?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It could be possible that they blocked it but I am not in that country so I would not know.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Bitcoin surges as Amazon job posting suggests retailer may accept cryptocurrencies Did anyone see this coming? Could shake things up a bit if true.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes I expected it because its just another way to collect more sales. I see no real downside if they convert the crypto into stable coins upon getting the tokens.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Tesla with a record quarter.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Screenshot_20210727-074710_Samsung Internet.jpg

060e1183591303d80eb675c90a3fc01cd46dbcb9

Can anyone help by popping that in the support section of the discord group please.