You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Does It Feel To be In A Growing Industry Whilst The rest Of the World Burns?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

So true! I am glad I came here to read it. I've been trying to convince many of my friends photographers to join Hive (back then Steemit). I even held "offline" presentations to more than a hundred of people in the three biggest cities in Bulgaria few years ago, prior the Covid madness. Some of them tried the platform, a few are still here and post almost every day, to which I am very happy. I've been recently notified by @hivebuzz it is my third birthday on the platform. The truth is I am in a love-hate relationship with Hive but that's just me, being an introvert, watching people sometimes do things lead by money and sex, instead of the greater good. Moreover, I think Hive isn't really 100% decentralized. A lot of dapps we use on a daily basis and we depend on are somewhat centralized.
Another "characteristic" of Hive is the lack of written general rules and I guess it will always be that way due to the fact those with the most HP define the rules. So those rules could be changed anytime in an instant. I'm not saying this is bad, it's just the way it's gonna be.
Theoretically, if Bill Gates, or any other person who has more than those USD 145M, the apprx. market cap of Hive, buys them off the exchanges, could come here and start enforcing their own rules.
Freedom of speech? There is some but not a full freedom. Yes, you could publish anything and it cannot be deleted but again, if the whales don't like what you do and start downvoting you, it will soon be hidden once your reputation becomes negative.


Long story short, I love Hive and I believe the future is here and now but we should work on tuning it and making it better by investing more (time, quality original content and resources) and share our opinion and suggestions :)

Have a great day!

Sort:  

Oh, just a footnote. My guys are regularly curating you in neoxian city. I get to see a lot of your work. It's fantastic :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Huge thank you for all your efforts, support and motivation! To be honest I would be long gone if it wasn't for the great support and hand I get from some of you big guys here :) Stay safe!

Well that's what I love about open source. Maybe you don't. But it's like what happens in a hierarchical world.

A person will create a basic structure and throw it out there. Maybe a bigger kid will come along and claim that frame for himself and set the rules. Maybe that bigger kid will spend years fending other people off from his precious structure, or, like on hive, he will invite other people to come along and build on it.

Yep, nothing is free from tyranny in this world. Bill gates can come along and spend $150 Mil on buying up the extra coins on the market and rule over us -- but then what happens to the price of hive? What if blocktrades, or whoever thinks fuck this, time to move again. We get a fuckload of $$$ from our hive to put into said new chain. It's happened before, we are well adept to dealing with dictators.

Freedom of speech isn't free from consequence though. Think of it in the real world. If you shout out something down town and a couple of gangsta's don't like what you're saying? what happens then? Are you invulnerable? Or do you expect the proper consequences? That's what happens in the real world.

It's the same with hive - if people don't like what you are saying then you get a downvote. But it's not the same as completely vanishing you. That's censorship :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Indeed! All valid points. Of course, there are societies where you can shout almost everything and that's ok. Look how French people do strikes and riots almost about everything, that's in their nature and I love that. I spent about two decades of my life under the tyranny of the communist dictatorship and I am perhaps a bit more sensitive to some matters :) Back in those times people were sent for years into labor camps and prisons just for telling a joke about the Leader.

Damn, I've read about that stuff happening. I once lived in Russia in 1981-85. My father was contracted over to work with their nuclear power. I was too young to understand, but that sounds very harsh indeed.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes, true. Unfortunately, that was only the tip of the iceberg.