Changing Business Models

in LeoFinance2 years ago

There is a little red book with my words in,
with little purple letters they forms in...
To what use they are I wonder,
Cause my business model is clearly torn asunder.
20211129_090938s.jpg
(Thankfully I’m not supported by my poetry.)

Buy low and sell high or the opposite, sell high and buy back low. For a long time it seems like how society operated.

I have tried to make a business using this model in many ways with various degrees of success.

I started out making 3D lenticular cards. I spent hours and hours learning software and taking photos for the cards. I thought they turned out nicely but getting just the raw materials for the cards was pricey and it took a lot of labor to make them. I could not sell enough of them to continue to produce them. When my printer broke I stopped making them.

I have also tried trading crypto and have had some limited success with that. I’m not very good at timing the market or figuring out what kind of things are going to become popular. I definitely like to buy and hold better.

I have also tried selling my labor and had multiple clients I was working for at one time. This can get difficult when they all want things done at the same time.

It was also not real easy working for someone else for me. I often felt the conditions were just not right although I liked most of the jobs I’ve had.

Many of the ways that businesses operate don’t seem right if they are done in small groups of people or within families. If I bought food for a family member and sold it to them for twice what I paid for it they would be rather upset.

Yet if I bought BTC and sold it for many times what I paid for it nobody would think that was odd at all.

Loaning something with interest can seem like highway robbery too in this day and age. What if I loaned you 1.0 BTC several years ago and you sold it for $20.00 USD then. Years later I want my 1.2 BTC back (including 0.2 interest.) How would you feel about repayment of $68,920.53 USD at today’s prices?

The old wisdom was that if someone looked like they needed the money you should just give it to them and not expect anything in return.

Working Towards the New Business Model

There is nothing really wrong with any of the old business models. With that said there are obviously ways that are much better for society than others. Bad business models have some degree of exploitation or coercion of people or resources. They pay some people well at the expense of the planet or other people.

In fact some ways of making money can be very bad for the society so people have often tried to make regulations and agreements to support one way of making money over another. Enormous resources are spent on trade agreements and regulations designed to help these old business models along, prevent crime, and account for differences between countries.

Ignorance, desperation and wide differences in wealth will always cause issues and regulations may not be the best approach. Incentives could be put in place to help people rather than making ever more difficult to enforce regulations.

In my personal journey I have found a lot of incentives in Cryptoland. The rules of the game of wealth creation seem to be changing rapidly. It is not just buy low sell high and lock in profit whenever you can. Arbitrage and trading are still very useful for price discovery but there are a host of other ways of making value too.

It is a virtual smörgåsbord to discover with a variety of ways to succeed. It feels like your success supports other like minded individuals. The new business models are community oriented and difficult to describe.

I think you know when you got something good going. Where it will end up is anyone’s guess though. For right now I’m pretty happy. I’ve found a business model that is working for me, although I can’t describe it well yet.

Here’s to Web 3.0 everyone! Best wishes for your success.


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+. Text and graphics copyright lightsplasher & litesplasher.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Loaning something with interest can seem like highway robbery too in this day and age. What if I loaned you 1.0 BTC several years ago and you sold it for $20.00 USD then. Years later I want my 1.2 BTC back (including 0.2 interest.) How would you feel about repayment of $68,920.53 USD at today’s prices?

If this happens, I will go unconscious! It is inconceivable that if a person borrows with such interest and after a few years he has to pay the current price with a lot of value addition, then I can be sure that he will die.

Lol. I think this is why they call it a "mortgage". Best to avoid all these loans right now imho.

It's a nice handwriting. Is it yours ?

Thank you. Yes it is my handwriting. I have been having fun with my new to me fountain pens.

Yeah...
I have some fountain pens either, because i like handwriting and i want to try it to.
Maybe simetimes you can make a post to review you fountain pens, i like to see them. 😉

Thanks very much Sir. Very apreciate it.

Hi! You have a soft character, judging by the handwriting! And you love order in everything. Let all your dreams come true, and money is a gainful thing :-)

Thank you for the handwriting analysis. Your spot on!

Wow sounds really impressive thanks for sharing

Thank you, hopefully a bit understandable in some way, I'm not trying to be too impressive.

I had to do a double take. I think I have never seen you post out of actifit. LOL !!!

OMG you caught me! Lol, after I discovered Actifit I almost always stick to that format beings how it seems to be my "BiG Mac" of my postings. :D

Just wondering how your cousin is doing? Is there any updates on his status?

Big Mac.....LOL

No word or sightings on my cousin. His mother posted not long ago that the law enforcement and her son's doctor suggested that she stop looking for him. Now, they didn't mean give up, but that two things, since we do not know if he is still living or if he may have left on purpose in fear that he might be institutionalized, that it might be time to end the active hunt. They suggested if anyone saw him to ask him if he could call his Mom or brother just to let them know he was ok and that they would not come after him unless that is what he wanted.

I don't know if I worded that right. I know it is the hardest thing for his Mom, but she saw some wisdom in it. I think she still is quietly still in touch with different folks at shelters and homeless areas, but no big groups of folks hunting through forests and no more flyers and crime stopper's rewards.

Time will still tell !

This sounds like a wise course of action. Hopefully he will get in touch with everyone soon.

I very motivated by your story about the business taken, here I can take advantage that failure is the road to success. However, all of that takes struggle.

Hi my friend @lighsplasher Thanks for telling your hard work.

very impressive and very beautiful writing thank you for sharing

Good post brother @lightsplasher . Please visit me brother.