Please welcome this freshly hatched raptor aka Setting up a LeoFinance curation account

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Lil Hyper.png

Li'l me on Peakd.com


out of the egg.png

Freshly hatched, 0 days old. I prefer to speak of day 1 though.

Screenshot from Hiveblocks.com


Lately I have been growing more and more frustrated ( not really, but it sounds good ) over the fact that my Voting Power is running out so fast. In all honesty, everything under 80% feels too low to me. I felt like I could upvote way less posts and comments ( I like to upvote comments ) than I like to and that didn't sit well with me.

I had tried a bunch of times, recently, to make myself an alt account on Leofinance ( the community where I hang out the most these past months ) and possibly - I don't remember - via Peakd.

I've seen quite a few people doing this, in order to be able to give upvotes on Leo, without draining the Voting Power of their main Hive account.

I thought my LEO alt accounts were created, but their keys didn't seem to work and I gave up forgot about it, after a while.

That is, up till today.

Today I gave the account creation another try, via the Leo wallet and (wo)man it was an easy, quick and smooth process.

I merely went to my Leo wallet, clicked on claim account and then on create account, right next to it. I then typed in the name of my alt account ( littlehyper.leo ), made up a temp password, downloaded my keys and C'est ça. Here I am.

I was a little confused though about delegation. I tried to delegate Leo Power from my main account to my Leo curation account, but it didn't seem to go through ( even though I received no error ). I then figured that it had to do with my current power down. I lowered the number of delegation power a little ( to make sure it was lower than my remaining LP, excluding the power down ) and it worked.

As per usual, people in ( the Leofinance ) discord chat were helpful. Cheers @FknMayhem , @tonimontana , @ubg and @bozz and helped me to get rid of my temporary state of confusion.

For now the 5k LP delegation will have to make do. I will probably up it to the max ( after my Power Down has finished ).

This write up was mainly made to let you all know that littlehyper.leo - who will be upvoting your Leo posts and comments as well as leaving some sweet comments himself, is yours truly: @vincentnijman

It might also be the little kick behind the butt that you needed to make your own alt/ curation account.

Also, if you decide to do so, make sure to delegate some Hive Power to your alt account too. I realized that littlehyper.leo was running very low on resource credits, after a couple of transactions ( votes and follows ). A mere 22 HP delegation made up for this and gave me the following screen that looks a lot nicer to the eyes than drained bars in brown or reddish colors:


hiveblocks.png

screenshot taken from hiveblocks.com


I am looking forward to interacting with you on Leofinance.
Have a good one!


Was signed,

Hypersensitivosaurus aka Li'l Hyper aka Little Hyper, aka SuperZENsitivosaurus

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I have some LP delegated to my wife's account that I use for curation. I also started using the vote percentage settings in leodex.io and that has helped me manage my VP much better. I can give a 2% upvote that doesn't move my Hive too much but it equals an 8% upvote over on LEO. This makes things much more manageable for me.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Interesting. I don't see that setting in LEODEX though. Where exactly do I find it? Even though I remember it from Hive Engine. Started using it there for some tokens quite a while ago.

I guess you're talking about auto curation/ curation trails though here?

I actually prefer to vote manually and decide how much I find a post or comment worth it. Especially on Hive, I prefer to either not vote at all or make sure the vote makes it over the dust threshold and reaches the person that wrote the blog / comment.

P.S. Have you ever heard of @dustsweeper? If not, you might find it an interesting service to use. It's the way to make small votes count.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Really interesting. I haven't tried. I had an old account laying around @tulwave, and that is where I do my curating and leo powering up.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Cheers!

I have another one too ( @vincinema ) but I mainly use that one for movie posts. Recently blew some new life into it, after not blogging about films for ages. I felt I needed one just for LeoFinance.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @littlehyper.leo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

It will be tough to remember your name so I just followed both of your accounts :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you. A wise move :>)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta