You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Asking the Brains Trust of HIVE for Ideas for Our Local Community Currency Exchange

in LeoFinance3 years ago

That sounds like a great idea to bring the whole community together, literally taking people back to how communities used to work in the good old barter days (not that I ever experienced it).

Bristol, in south west England, used to have a Bristol Pound. That started back in 2012 and according to their website they were up to £1m transaction per year. I think they also had some form local government backing as I read on their website you can even pay your local council tax with it. They're in the process of moving to a digital currency so they must be doing something right.

I've never used the currency before as I don't live in the city, but maybe it's something you can explore. Here's the website if you want to find out more. Good luck!

https://bristolpound.org/where-we-have-come-from/

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

That's so fascinating!!! I can't believe I didn't know that. Amazing. I'll look into it.

You might wanna beware of this if it's government backed though. They'll likely end up taxing you on the use of it so they can kill more people!