Because All Maps Have to Start Somewhere...

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

After months of my friend and someone, I revere as an advisor, Mr. Money Magnet @leoschein talking up leofinance.io I have finally decided it is a good time to dive in. I mean, after all, it's not like I don't have anything else going on in my life. It's not like I'm 9 months pregnant, it's not like my son has made an early entry to his "terrible twos", it's not like my business is still navigating and recovering from this new pandemic landscape, or like I just moved into the house I have been manifesting in my mind for 3+ years and still haven't unpacked or finished this new babies nursery. 😅 It's not like that at all...

...or is it? It is. It's a lot like that. It's precisely like that. But all of that is why I decided it was time to start doing this.

Let me explain myself

I, like most people I know, work very hard. I have always followed the philosophy that you get out what you put in. The harder you work, the bigger you'll be rewarded. And that mentality has served me pretty well over the years. When I was 27 my then-fiance and I opened a screen printing shop called The 401 Studio. We busted our butts to get our business viable, and someday I'll go deeper into that story because so much of who I am today has everything to do with what I learned on that journey...but for the sake of keeping this intro short, we'll reserve that juicy story for another time.

So anyway...

We managed to build a viable business and decided it was time to finally plan our wedding. I mean, we had a ridiculously long engagement. We got together in 2005, were engaged in 2012, and finally tied the knot in 2016. See, we put off planning the wedding to get the business up and running. So we finally got married and it was awesome. We exchanged vows in front of our family on the beach in front of one of our favorite Irish Pubs and we partied at a brewery. Then we put off having a family to buy a house. We took a year to get our financial plan in order and by 2017 we found our first home. We knew we needed to do a lot of work to our 1930's cape in order to see any kind of profit, so we got to work right away. In 2018 we found out we were expecting our first child. By 2019 we welcomed a son and our lives all of a sudden took on an incredible new meaning. Business owners with a fixer-upper home and a toddler to boot. Life had gotten very interesting. So much joy, so much to be thankful for, but also so much pressure to not just survive, but thrive.

All of a sudden I was knocked off of my feet...

In August of 2019, I was completely blindsided when I went to the chiropractor for an adjustment only to have a stroke the second he made the adjustment. I went in looking for an adjustment to my spine only to barely walk out with an adjustment to my view on life. I literally lost sight, albeit temporarily, but still, I lost my vision out of my dominant side. Here I am in 2021 and I still cannot fully feel the right side of my body and my right eye occasionally has a few weird grey dots that cloud my vision. And as crazy and scary as all of that might seem, it was exactly what I needed to wake the eff up and see what my life had become. I had put so much energy into accomplishing tasks that I lost sight of the goal. The goal wasn't to work for the rest of my life, it was to live a life that worked for me.
Obviously, March 2020 hit us really hard and shifted the focus of pretty much every single person worldwide, and I could talk at great length about the pandemic and how it forced me to reimagine my business, but instead, I want to say I did it. I made it through. I am living a completely different lifestyle, and that was the goal. And now that I've proven it to myself, now that I've adjusted my life and made it work for me, I am finally ready to make my money work for me too. So I'm taking this plunge into the land of what was once make-believe. The land where money is cute and digital. The land where the old-timers say only the young and dumb gamble. And this platform, well this is where I start. ***This post is where I start. ***

So I hope you'll join me. I hope you'll follow my journey as I navigate being a mother of 2 littles, a business owner, a wife and homemaker, and a complete novice to the world of crypto. I'll share what I learn along the way, I'll try not to bore you, and I'll fill you in on how it's going for me. Oh and... feedback is not only welcomed but encouraged...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Im in

Awesome, happy to have you on board!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hi there @mapmaker401 welcome to Hive. You've certainly had your shares of ups and downs in life, luckily you haven't let the downs drag you down. Look forward to hearing more from you, and enjoy your Hive journey!

Btw you can add the tags introduceyourself for great exposure.

Hey, thank you for the tip! You know...life has been far more up than down. I try to find the silver lining in most situations. My big downer was obviously the stroke, but in the same breath, it has allowed me to take a step back and evaluate what I really want from my life.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hello @mapmaker401! This is @traciyork from the @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) curation team. We noticed you shared your first post here on Hive and introduced yourself to the community - congratulations and welcome!

And, LOL! I hear you on the, "my life is crazy hectic so why not jump into another crazy hectic fray and see how that goes" kind of thing - I've done it myself too many times to count. But one of the things I love so much about the folks here is how they are so willing to shout out & help guide n00bs like me newbies like I used to be, which is why Hive is one of my favorite online communities.

Speaking of community, we have many different ones here on the blockchain, devoted to all kinds of interests. Here's a link so you can check them all out - Hive Communities

While I see you already have a delegation from @leo.voter, but since you're new, you may run into an RC (Resource Credits) error when trying to comment/post because you don't yet have enough Hive in your account. For assistance with a temporary delegation if that happens, be sure to check out the Gift Giver site.

If you have questions, feel free to hop into the OCD Discord server and we'll do our best to answer them, and again welcome to Hive!

Wow, these are amazing resources, I really appreciate you sharing these! lol and also so glad you get my vibe!!!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @mapmaker401! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

woohoo!!! Celebrate!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Nice @mapmaker401! It is great to see you are doing your first steps! Great work!

Welcome mapmaker401!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you!!!!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta