Opinion: January 29, 2022. The Negativity of Downvotes

in LeoFinance2 years ago

Picture Steemit SteemLeo World Finance.jpg

Downvotes are an element of the HIVE blockchain. They are used for users to express their dissatisfaction with blog posts. In theory they make sense. Just as there are upvotes, there should be downvotes.

The problem is that we are human beings. We react psychologically to downvotes in a negative way. It is true that some users will try to "use the system", publish illegal material, or publish plagiarized content. The problem is that the ones who take upon themselves to act as police are not necessarily better morally equipped than the accused of publishing "bad content".

These "guardians of the HIVE purity", when they have significant power in the blockchain, abuse their power through the vehicle of downvoting. They do not analyze the content. They hit before asking questions.

Socially, this has the effect of keeping people away from the blockchain. Without the increase in numbers, there will not be a successful blockchain and the financial success will be measured as the total market capitalization and its relative comparison with competing networks.

This post is intended to only raise awareness. In order to make actual financial decisions please contact your financial advisor and/or tax advisor prior to making the decision.
Sort:  

I got downvotes on some of my comments from @adm and it doesn't even explain why. I found this very strange because issuing downvotes on personal opinions is something I really didn't expect.
img_7488.png
Now I'll find out what to do, but I admit I don't even want to. If even personal comments are reported, I would say that sooner or later I too will get bored.

There is not really much to do, they hold the power, and have chosen to abuse it. It is sick behavior, but human. And, as you can see in the response, they enjoy doing it

Don't worry, HIVE is certainly not perfect, it's still run by humans...and humans make mistakes.

I am not concerned. They are human, for sure.

They are used for users to express their dissatisfaction with blog posts

Just a note from me ... they are not to express their dissatisfaction with blog posts. The true reason is they are to represent how much someone wishes for the pool of rewards to be taken on to that post. I can still like that post personally but if I think it should not get any rewards, I can just don't vote for it (although I can even say, on the comments that it was hilarious/funny, etc).

The ideal scenario in my view would be a system of up/down voting (for rewards) to be independent of the "like/dislike" system. This way people could just say something as simple as...

"I really love what you just said, but that should not get any rewards because it's a joke, mess up"

or

"You are really a dumb ass and I hate what you are saying, but that has some value for this blockchain"

or

"I hate what you are saying and you should not get any rewards... for what you are doing"

or

"I really like this and this is how much I would vote for rewards on your post"

All 4 situations exist but are mixed up in a single 2 option scenario, which in many situations will fork into comments explaining why, but not necessarily all the time.

So, if the reason for providing rewards is lured into "liking"... that's not the right expression in my view... I have never seen that as the reason. You can downvote me as much as you wish when you don't like to provide rewards for what I am posting. But when eventually more people agree... that changes on the current system.

This has been an inefficient fight in the past, and I think there is enough proof that it needs "visual" addressing at least... I am just providing my opinion. Anyone can either disagree or not.

Downvotes are very important to prevent plagiarism.

.

you delegate to pfunk who is a bully and downvoting projects bringing value to Hive... be nice if he had less power to bully folks away from Hive...
Screenshot (2567).png

All that money you're scamming Hive users selling NFTs for vaporware and you care about losing $2.50 or so to a downvote? You're not good at scamming here, find another (more productive hopefully) profession.

"77 Hive for a shit post and invest in Hive Punks yet bully flag a game and project building with NFTs that have utility... you are absolute trash"

You're projecting ^

You sabotaging Hive instead of being constructive with your jealous judgmental self should find another profession, the circle jerk you are a part of will end soon... games are coming to test soon and if you keep calling it vaporware you are then also calling the several witnesses on this project scammers too correct? this is not my profession yet an investment scumbag.

Why you downvoted me

Ты чего минусуешь китяра?