You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Got hacked, now what?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Wow! What an ordeal that must have been. I'm so sorry you had to go through that. It must make you question the whole experience of crypto, because we all invest more than just money into the various platforms we're on. We're investing parts of our lives.

Do you know how you were hacked? Was it a case of someone finding out your keys, or was the wallet software itself hacked into?

I'm fairly new to this, but I've heard a few stories like these to make me question how much crypto I should keep in one place, or whether spreading it around is actually any safer, or just feels safer.

Thank you for sharing your experience. Horrible as it was, it might help others, which is a positive thing.

Sort:  

I believe they got my seed phrase - which I had mailed to myself (and I think they hacked into my email in order to get that)

and yes yes yes - PLEASE spread it around in different wallets to protect it. And also keep your passwords updated, complex and keep those passwords SAFE!!!

It really did make me question a lot about crypto. like - do I really really want to be here anymore??? Because its not just my hack - its the MANY MANY other hack stories from people, platforms, exchanges - that KEEP coming out more and more - the more i share.

And that is really discouraging. Because I think the answer to those people shouldn't be "Oh well, that's crypto"

and THAT is the answer that we have. Which is SUPER disconcerting, discouraging and disgusting.

Yeah we do need to protect ourselves - and learn - yep!!!
But for the victims? the best we can say is "That's crypto"???? that is just so pathetic in my mind.

It really just leaves the door wide open for hackers to know they can get away with it. WHAT exactly is the deterrent for them??? none that I'm seeing.

Thanks for your awesome comment!!! and I appreciate your kindness :)

Yes, I can really sympathize. At the moment there seems to be no-one to turn to when things go wrong. But as governments begin to recognize crytpo as being an asset that is taxable, then you would think the flip side would be that they would also have to recognize that taking other people's crypto is theft like any other - with victims warranting the full protection of the law.

It's very difficult when passwords / seed phrases etc need to be so long and randomized. If you have several wallets for different cryptos, and then Binance accounts etc on top of that, then it becomes very very difficult not to leave some trace, somewhere on your computer.

Even if you keep all your passwords offline, when you type them in manually, there are a number of methods where a clever hacker could capture your keystrokes.

I hope you stay with crypto, though I can completely understand if you walked away after the experience you've had :(

I ended up filing a 10 page report with the FBI - but - I have a feeling I'll be waiting a while to hear back from them.

And yes - I'm staying with crypto :)
We have a new project that I think will add some positivity BACK into the cryptoverse :)

One month until we test it - and 2 months until it goes live (God willing!) hehe

And... if anything, this lesson of mine couldn't have come at a better/worse time. Worse - because a lot of that money was money for the project. but Better time... because as I mentioned - I'm glad that I learned the hard way NOW... rather than later when there could be a lot more money involved. Who knows??? but better to learn now.

Thanks for your conversation :) I've enjoyed it a lot and followed you. 😊

You too! And I best of luck in your project. I'll look forward to checking it out :)

Thank you so much😊 Maybe I'll give you a little sneak peek hehehe

That would be fantastic - please do :)

I will come find you when I have your peek ready! hehehe