You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Poly Network Hack

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

hmmm... I don't know the real intention of these hackers, they could have done it just for fun but here you raise noteworthy points.

Freezing of USDT... OK , control.

Anyway... perhapes this fund transfer can be traced and all and the Mr White Hat (I don't know how they know the gender if that hacker is anonymous) returned it before tracing, but I like to think he had good intensions.

Unlike you I only enjoyed the drama in these episodes man and made an article on it -
https://peakd.com/@mintymile/super-dooper-defi-crypto-show

However, I am yet to learn how this hack happened and your article is helpful on that.

But I am not against community policing if a hack of this kind is there, imagine your an investor and your money is hacked on the chain, you obviously want it back, even if authorithies freeze it, validators reject it or control it. But, anyway..

I used to be scared of touching DEFI earlier, things have changed, I am dabbling in it, I hope I don't experience such catastrophies. Anyway.

Sort:  

I think if the USDT hadn't been frozen and the hacker had succeeded in getting funds through the mixer, this story would have played out differently, but as you said, we'll likely never know the true intentions of the hacker.

I read your article and it was a pretty good take on it! And my argument against direct community policing, like blocking wallets on the blockchain directly, or forcing all of the DEXs to maintain blocklists, is that it becomes a slippery slope.

The ideals of crypto in general is to be open and uncensored, and if we start leveraging the technology to start blocking things, where exactly does that line get drawn at? Who gets to be the final authority in the case of a mistake being made and someone getting blocked unjustly?

I don't know that there is a "good" option in these instances, other than trying to head them off at a centralized point where crypto gets turned into fiat, but I don't think mandating DeFi protocols or the blockchains themselves to handle it is the right move either.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well...yesterday I found this article on coin desk...it gives new twist...something like the hacker , he is not returning that key of the Multi signature wallet.

Also he first denied that 500,000$ bounty, now he wants it so he can fund another person to hack Poly Network!!

I don't know what to conclude of this.

The article is here - https://www.coindesk.com/poly-network-hack-attacker-prolongs-return

I really liked your analytical take on this, and read your blogs sometimes on read.cash they really explain things very well.