You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you receive requests from Family and Friends about kinda Absurd Money making Offers?

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

This post is not to be missed!

one can easily conclude this guy is a likely a scam artist.

What, you listened to a video (even in the background) for 2,5 hours? This is called preparation for the topic and research! 🙌

There are scam artists out there, indeed. I can not say anything about affiliate marketing, I have zero knowledge about the topic, but scams, hm, plenty of.

If you let me, can I describe one of the scams going on with teachers?

So, a piano teacher receives an email with the next offer (there are changes and slight differences the scammers are including... but basically this kind):

A parent wants piano lessons for 3 or 4 children. Twice a week. During a period of xy months. The parent is deaf, so just messages, they can not talk on the phone. (another version is that the parent doesn't speak the language)The children will be brought with a personal driver, so no contact again with the parent. The money, which is now determined (because they agree on how many children/per week/per months/price of the lesson) is paid by the parent through a transfer. The parent accidentally pays more, so asks the teacher to pay back the extra money. The teacher pays, the parent disappears with the paid back money and the initial transfer is cancelled or not realized at all.

I saw this so many times at piano teachers forums in the USA. Almost daily complaints about how they get scammed in this way!

How can we protect people from Internet scams?

Giving those examples, but you can not help, in reality, as not everyone will listen.

I even suspect an increasing amount of victims over time, since we will see income from jobs reduced, the number of jobs reduced, while the urge of earning online increased the more we progress into the future.

This is happening in crisis, yes... also gambling, games of chance are increasing when people are in need :/

Sort:  

Hahahaha well... Maybe not all time for research for this post. More like: while curating the blockchain this morning, I came across a post with a video on the LBRY network. See them more often, but next to launching the video and skipping through it, I also took the time to check if my wallet was still available and accessible. Long story short: Yes it was. With the newly downloaded client I started to browse the LBRY network, and amongst others, came across a promo video (the one I mentioned at the beginning of my post). That one led me to check his website and the long video. I suppose, because the topic of internet scamming was somewhere in my mind due to this Bitcoin scam thingy a friend almost got hereself into.

An hour into the video, I thought: I could make a post for HIVE so I decided to watch the rest as well. Well watching, at some point I started writing the post with all the blahblahblah at the background.

Must say, this John guy was a whole lot better than the BTC guy my friend walked into.

Question still is: Is this offer by John a scam, or will those who signup and pay, get access to some library of training material, a community, support channel and group/p2p coaching services? Maybe this is in fact offered.

Since I don't know what this guy delivers, I can't claim he is a scammer. But, people shall be aware it may be money wasted, when getting into the offered 'game'. Since, the average jo will not excel in affiliate marketing. That's a given.

The teachers scam. Interesting how people believe someone having paid, and refund some of the money before they even receive the payment. D*rn those scammers: They bank on the fact people are of good will, and people believe others have a good heart. Now, I must say: I do believe most people have a good heart, but that is beside the point :)

A few people in my circles know how I do my reearch, and know when they ask me something, I give my honest answer which I try to keep as objective as possible. These people tend to checkin with me whenever they feel they are on to something they like to get into (usually some easy money scheme) and before they continue to subscribe, get my opinion. Others in my circles ask me what to vote for when elections are held. For similar reasons: I do my research. That's my way of contributing to the scam artists. In fact, I think we need AI and human based teams rating information and offers. Results shall somehow be presented with the search results in search engines. It's then up to the searcher, to act on the ratings, or not.

Sorry for a bit late reply, I was doing my research and writing the SadSunday post... where maybe you are involved... and in my yesterday's post also 🤣 What an influencer you are.
And a researcher. If your friends for your opinion in such delicate matters, it indeed means you are a good researcher and they trust you! Nice.

So I went to lbry, and saw just short videos, so the long one is on his website. ok. Education is not cheap, and a good education that can be paid back is worthy. Now the only question is what you get, is it really worth and do you have your own capabilities to make that real. I don't see myself even close to the matter, but that is me.
Maybe there are some motivated people who can to it possible, but I suppose they could make it even without this program then? I don't know.

The teacher scam, I am just amazed at how some people can fall into it, but on the other hand, I can understand. In desperate situations, every student counts so you want to do as much as possible to have some extra students.

Are you edje in lbry?

Have to check your latest post, will she them tomorrow morning 🙃
But really? Influencer? pfffff hahahaha
LBRY: @edje#4