How Platform X's Algorithm is Eating Your Digital Lunch—And What You Can Do About It

in LeoFinance8 months ago

X Algorithm is Eating Your Lunch

I don’t know why X keeps giving me the vibe of the legacy system where you can get penalized for anything as much as breathing too much, you thought Hive had too many rules? You must be in for a rude awakening on platforms like X. If you’re a small account, you do this you’re shadow banned, you do that- you’re deboosted, the algorithm is out to eat your lunch.

For those unfamiliar, being 'deboosted' means your account and posts are less likely to be shown in others' feeds, while 'shadow banned' means your posts are hidden from users who don't follow you

My Personal Struggles with X's Algorithm

I recently found a snippet of code that revealed surprising reasons for an account being deboosted. For instance, interacting with an account that has more followers than it follows can be a penalty trigger.

I, personally, was shocked by this as I often follow accounts based on the quality of their content, not their follower count. on one hand I want to believe it’s not true, but it’s right there in the code, on the other hand I want to protest, but what can my little voice do on Elons internet, I thought being a blue subscriber will put one’s account above these kind of things, but guess who is in for the rude awakening? Me.

This one particularly affects me because I do have more following than followers, bro, I follow anyone I like their content, sometimes they don’t follow back and that’s okay, but to be penalized for this on a social network is very awkward.

Another penalty in the snippet is replying to accounts that have below 500 followers getting someone deboosted, this one is particularly hilarious because who will engage with small accounts now or how will they grow?

The Flaws of X's Algorithm Explained

The lack of transparency in X's algorithm is concerning. Even with insights from leaked snippets, it's hard to understand the platform's logic fully. Elon Musk promises that these are old codes that will be updated, but when? Hopefully not in a gazillion years.

I’m particularly interested in these algorithms so I can get the most of the platform, build a brand grow an audience, make some returns from investing in blue, but if it has to be like this then I have to question if it’s even worth it.

Community leaders and other notable accounts are reaping ad revenues every two weeks, but the rest of us are navigating a minefield of obscure rules, risking shadow bans and deboosts.

I’m even skeptical about sharing this post on X before it’ll get me more deboosted, it’s all just so stressful. Until Elon fixes things, Hive will always remain superior and will remain so for a long time.

Why Hive remains superior

The whole thing baffles me when people say that Hive is hard or there are too much rules, at least on Hive, most of these “rules” that matter are transparent, the worst thing that can happen to one’s account is to be doing something wrong without knowing you’re doing anything wrong and being penalized for it because no one will correct you, because they don’t even know themselves, this is what x is like presently, everyone is just throwing whatever on the wall hoping it sticks.

While I want the success of Web3 platforms like Hive, I also want the success of X, merge them both and use one to fulfill the shortcoming of the other while achieving the same results. I know just what to do and that’s to continue doing what I’ve always done, creatively share useful information to ensure my content stands out, and keep reaching out to others in the same niche to connect that’s my ultimate formula.

My strategy going forward

Share valuable information, my passion lies in sharing my discoveries relating to notable occurrences that have a direct impact on our lives in financial technology and my experiences as I navigate these tools that have the potential to give us social, economic and financial freedom.

Doing this has put me ahead of many people that have better jobs and better economies around them, They have better jobs, live in better economies but are they truly free?

Everybody wants to be free but unfortunately most people are too busy caught up in life’s rat race and don’t know how to go about it. Here is where my experiences come in. I also get to be creative about it so my discoveries stand out and are super easy to follow, certainly this mix is bound to help someone out there, and if by grace I’m honored for it by gaining more traction then it’s all for the better, it means I’m making an impact and this can open the flood gates of revenues from not just X but other avenues as well.

Posted Using LeoFinance Alpha

Sort:  

Those with less than 500 followers will have a hard time growing on X. I recently came across a few accounts that are suspended and I couldn't see their tweets or any other data. Makes me think what happens when a account is permanently suspended or deleted by them, will all that data also go away?

yeah all the data will be gone and that’s the most dangerous thing people are risking, imagine all the years of hard work gone into thin air for doing things that they might not even be aware of

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @mistakili, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.