How Splinterlands Players Turned NFTs into Life-Changing Assets

in LeoFinance8 months ago

The Viral Impact of Sharing Real Stories

| In the past week I innocently shared my story about a sale of my Splinterlands NFT to cover a real life expense on Twitter/X and before I knew it, the post took off, bagging over 2k impressions with many other members of the community also sharing their own stories, it felt great, you don’t see stuff like that happen all the time, a great game that makes great stories for those involved is a winner.

Speaking of great stories, my story was about a $40 NFT that I sold to cover my birthday expenses, I spoke about the emotional attachment and how much I didn’t want to let go and that was it, not so great a story when you compare it to others who sold some cards to cater to travel expenses to Disneyland, now that’s a great story, how much could have probably gone down into that? A couple thousand dollars? Wheww, all from the sales of few cards, isn’t that something.

That’s got to be fulfilling, I once told my sister that one of those NFTs will buy me a car in the near future, we both laughed at it, but I was serious, I recognize this potential, like many other community members too, even though it hasn’t happened yet, the potential of it happening is very high.

Another great story was someone who sold a couple of cards and bought a Nigerian goat that gave them milk and other baby goats. Now imagine rearing those goats to the point where they all begin producing more milk or more baby goats that they can sell for money, jeez, bro how’s that for a great story.

From NFTs to Real Estate

The biggest story that was shared was that of someone who bought 3 hectares of farmland with the proceeds from the sales of their Splinterlands NFTs, bruh, I’m flabbergasted on the persons behalf, what a win and a great story, I can’t begin to analyze and imagine how the property will be used to generate returns for life and generations to come. Others paid for house, living expenses, loans with proceeds from sales of their NFT’s. Super cool stuff, great stories.

Great stories like these birth die hard communities and stories like this is reason enough to be bullish on the future of Splinterlands, this is the first time in my life that I’ll encounter such experience and the good thing is that it doesn’t end here.

I can’t wait to see what the next couple of years grinding it out here will be like, I can guess one thing is certain, more great stories are coming to more people, especially those sticking around now.

The Future is Bright, and It’s Filled with Land

Lands 1.5 are coming! Every other week, some snippets are released to show just how cool the new lands updates will be. It is certain that there’s a lot of thoughts being put into the economics of the new system that will drastically impact the future of the ecosystems economy. One thing Aggroed always says is that there won’t be enough SPS for everyone and for some reason I really believe him.

Also in other news, a new card from the Riftwatcher edition was airdropped to those who qualified for it within the community today, and it’s so cool because firstly, Riftwatcher packs are being burnt out of existence almost on a daily basis if I’m correct.

At the moment, only about 1.6million are left to be burnt or sold out of 3million and they are moving really fast because they are priced in DEC and the value of DEC is currently below the set price it’s meant to be so Riftwatcher packs are presently on discount sale.

Riftwatcher Airdrop

Secondly, Riftwatchers are special edition packs, when they finally go out of sale, the individual card prices are meant to increase as people demand for them due to their special abilities, especially when it comes to the cards that are being airdropped like the Sea Wreck that was airdropped today which are more limited in print than the others, getting airdropped one of these gems is really something to be excited about.

And luckily for me, I got airdropped my first airdrop from the Riftwatcher edition today and I’m really excited about it. It’s a lethal legendary card that is super useful in battle and I can’t wait to take it for a spin. Splinter Ladies and gents, join me in welcoming a new addition to my chest of Splinterlands NFTs.

This is another gem to hold and speculate on while using it to cause havoc on the battle ground. Last I checked, people have listed it on the market for about $20. I wonder how the price will fare in the bull market, def something to look forward to.

Is Now A Good Time To Get Involved?

There’s no experiencing these feelings of bliss without being involved in this ecosystem of awesomeness that is shaping the future of gaming on web 3. One question people like to ask is that is now a good time to get involved in the game? |

I have a very short answer, with the price of DEC being lower than should? Everything is presently on discount and as soon the dev team gets the economy right, things will definitely change up, chances are there might never be opportunities like this again, so is now the best time to get involved? You tell me. |

Thanks for reading and battle till you drop.

Posted Using LeoFinance Alpha

Sort:  

That's an amazing story! I had to sell a Yodin Zaku I earned from a reward chest to pay a bill. I was grateful to at least have the opportunity to fully experience turning an NFT into a physical asset to be used in the real world.

Congratulations on your Airdrop. Hope the card serves you well!

Yesss, it’s the possibility, the availability, the opportunity, the experience, to do these things,….

Thank you very much I hope so too

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121