Where are you Sailing to Captain?

in LeoFinance3 months ago

You are the captain of your own ship; the more you act from that perspective, the better things will go for you.

— David Allen

Whichever way our life drifts to, we’re always equipped with the power to sail our course or let the tides take us wherever it wants.

When you know you have the power over your thoughts (mind), life, and how you live, there's some understanding that comes with it like….

Knowing you are the captain of your ship

Not your friend, government, or anybody else for that matter

With that in mind, you will never allow the waves to take you wherever they want.

created using canva

Yet we have many people out there who are actively living their lives exclusively based on other people's perspectives and views of the world. This makes many people caught in living average lives and then die without making a real impact on the world around them.

Average Is the standard, but it's not the best standard. Because if we are the captain of our ship we won't want to live like anybody else but rather be our unique self even if it means we won't fit in with the average Joe's. Most people nowadays live like that just so they won't be considered living below average. So they live like every other person and move like them.

Where to Sail to…

Yesterday I mentioned the misconceptions many people have about the internet that have made them weary and worried about using the internet for anything at all.

However, before that, I mentioned how I was thinking about writing up a post but eventually had to do that one due to many missing pieces yet to be revealed…

If I'm being honest, nothing is missing, but I just don't know how to put it in a way that I can see the scenario for what it is without getting attached to the situation.

While at the shop a few days ago. The next shop was a dry-cleaners shop. And it was owned by a street friend of mine.

This gentleman was the type I know to be a workaholic. And I know how enthusiastic he was back when he was just starting his dry-cleaning business. After a few years, his business started booming, and now that I got back to the neighborhood I can see he's not in the same position he was when he just started. Financially, I think he's well off to some level compared to his peers.

However, from my observation and some reactions from his customers, I see he's now losing his focus and some of his customers now see him to be kind of lazy. And the reason is that he's now moving with people who are not working men like him. Truth be told, he now moves with people who believe you've got to scam someone online to be able to make money.

Fraud is something that has stained the reputation of this country, both within Africa and abroad. Whenever a young guy is seen to be wearing good clothes and looks good, the perception many people now have is that he is into some form of fraud, regardless of what type of work he might be into. Merely saying you work online alone makes you a prime suspect of being involved in one form of fraud or the other.

That isn't my point, but this young man, who has a legit hustle unlike many young adults, now moves with people who don't have the same work as he does.

Sailing to Oblivion

That didn't bother me at first since it might just be a casual type of friend whom you don't just want to seem rude to, so you roll with them and still stay focused on your grind.

But that wasn’t the case. Whenever this gentleman resumes work and has accomplished some of his daily work, the next thing he does is to go meet his other friends at home to start indulging in all kinds of stuff that are related to drugs. That is not even the major issue here, but whenever his customers come either to give him a job or to get their clothes, he's mostly nowhere to be found. This has been going on for months now and has caused countless issues between him and his customers.

I Don't Sail stormy waters

I like still waters

So it happens that recently one of his customers came to drop a dress. After trying his number but wasn't reachable, I had to help him hold the dress until he came back from wherever he went to. I asked the customer to come back later or call him so he knows who dropped the dress.

The funny thing is that when he came back to get the dress from me (after the customer had told him he dropped it for someone at the next shop)he made the remark asking me how I cope with staying in our shop all day without going anywhere.

His other friend who came with him said he couldn't do that. The dry cleaner guy also remarked that he could never do that. Meaning, that they cannot stay in one place all day, even if it's about getting their job or business moving…

We Sail Different

The case with the gentleman who has no real job could be justifiable, but for the gentleman who works as a dry-cleaner. My take is that he just agrees with these guys' remarks because I know deep down his customers are not happy with his absence whenever they get to the shop and don't meet him. But on the other end, too, he might not see how this is affecting him and driving his business to oblivion.

Sailing with the Crowd

I think all that is happening is due to the fact that he has been moving with people who don't align with what he does, and this has caused him to start thinking like them when he knows he's not like them.

If I told them I write online every day and do all kinds of stuff coupled with staying at the shop, I bet they would think differently of me but who cares, I know I'm the captain of my ship and their opinions are not relevant because I know my plan and goals for staying in one place to collect my thoughts and sail my ship successfully to where I want it to go.

WHERE ARE YOU SAILING TO, CAPTAIN?

Posted Using InLeo Alpha