You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dan confuses people... I think..

in LeoFinance3 years ago

My thoughts on that are yes you're correct really hive is steem. Even when we speak of it in terms like oh its it's own blockchain and almost like the branding makes it something else. No hive is just steem branding with the formal steem community.

Now what Justin Sun pretty much has is his own people came in. Tron guys whoever you wanna call them for the most part. My belief is there are several dozen reasons why Dan Larimer would not stick around hive. I wouldn't stick around it either and i'll tell you why if i were him. I'm not him but i think i get where he's coming from.

The first part Dan had several hangups with the steem blockchain. Those hangups didnt go away when hive was created.. hive just pretty much forked and almost inherited almost the same exact system .. witnesses everything. Nothing really changed from when Dan left to begin with. So its the same thing.

The next part is Dan Larimer is a buddhist..In all intent and purpose i am a buddhist.. more geared to hinduism but hinduism in the larger scale encompassing buddhism as they all came out of it. This is very important in understand Dan Larimer and many of the buddhist mindsets. One a buddhist probably won't be fully motivated by money and profits and earnings. May be part of it but its not the main part. Same with me i built a system a project and coin moon isn't the main objective.

So here's the issue with hive and steem. They both run on a proof of stake model which is necessary. however it also means those with the most stake control the network have the most influence. Now one could make a valid argument. Having more stake one should deserve to have more influence. However there then becomes the problem of if i got more stake i got the loudest voice

So hence thats why Dan Larimer wanted to take money out of the systems in that way. Because if you had more money you had more control of the information. that is going to be counterproductive to people like Dan Larimer and myself.. The steem and hive structure does'nt fix that . Now to their defense Dan and Ned did say these projects were experimental as to say. They didn't know it would become this way. They thought it would work differently and human psychology wouldn't take control. However in completely understanding this. We do need to full take into account these factors.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I'm not on here for the money. I'm here for archiving my work, for communicating with people.


Likewise, people can still be here for reasons other than just money related. I no longer support Steem and yet I still post onto Steem. See, the thing is you can be on something and still not support it.


I hate Facebook but I am on Facebook everyday. I say that to say it doesn't matter how Dan feels about Hive, Steem, Bitcoin, the dollar, etc. What really matters is going to where the people are.


Also, does Dan keep a blog on another website? If Dan has a blog, he is making a mistake of not having the blog on Hive. I copy and paste my daily blog posts onto different blockchains just in case if one were to die, I'd still have a backup.


Dan should understand the value of decentralization. If he is actively doing better things, then I guess that is acceptable. If Dan is literally sitting around doing nothing all day, then I find that to be not fulfilling one's potential in life.