You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Credit card only

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Never heard of anyone simply reusing to take cash point blank either here in Thailand or in the UK but I know for large purchases in the UK, you can't pay cash for a car for example, most dealers have a limit of £2000 in cash toards the total cost which must then be by bank transfer. In Thailand, cash is still very prevalent, you can often stand queuing in a bank behind someone either depositing or withdrawing amounts in the millions of Baht, but yet we all use our phones for paying for small things, everything is App and QR code which I think is very healthy as its not too far removed from paying with Crypto in the future....
However, if the conspiratory theorists are right, and the shit really did hit the fan, it will be back to cash and trading, so however hard the government pushes us into a cashless society, a nice little pile stashed in reserve wouldn't hurt....
FInal thing. In the UK, my Mum cannot now get a cheque for her premium bond winnings or get her pension in cash. Everything is straight into the bank...all in the name of cost and convenience, but we know the real reason!

Sort:  

Yes, while I don't use cash a lot myself, restrictions on its use are very concerning to me. They pave the path to tyranny.

Exactly!

Well, make sure you have a card here in Australia and not cash as plenty of places refuse to transact in cash. Seems legal tender is not welcome my h anymore. I don't mean just small businesses either, some of the big national brands do it and are adamant. They have cash only signs and will not budge on it.

The money straight into the bank is all about control and tracking as you allude to, so is the cashless thing. This post was more prompted by the concern over the pile of cash I have in my safe and how difficult it is becoming/going to become to use it. Experiences like the lunch payment yesterday will become prevalent.

It's all a bit mental if you ask me, but let's see how it plays out.