Sort:  

Cheers for sharing your thoughts.

I'm interested in hearing more on you and the team's opinion on self voting.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

!ENGAGE 50

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

My personal view is that self-voting is fine. Why would you put out content that you don't think is worthy of a vote?

If you are putting out garbage to vote on, then let the market self-regulate and downvote the content. But downvote it because it's not good, regardless of who votes on it.

You'd have to ask khal for an official position.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Linear curation pioneers the HIVE rewards systems and second layer as well. Probably based on its success the others will follow, but what it is clear it acts and corrects a system that didn't work for so long. It simplifies it and from that point on new directions can be taken, maybe a better formula might be developer afterwards, who knows...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, in chat we were kicking around some other ideas like a qualified proof of life kind of thing. Linear rewards definitely isn't the end point, but I think it's a great step forward.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

From what I understand, upvotes on Hive are linked to upvotes with LEO with the option to have a multiplier on Leo upvotes. As much as I love the linear reward curve, doesn't it conflict with Hive upvotes as they are still non-linear with a voting window? For users that have both HIVE and LEO staked on their account it won't really change anything as curating leo posts in a manual non-linear way will screw them over on their hive upvotes. Is there anything I'm missing in this regard?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's true if you are voting HIVE and LEO on the same account. In the early days of tribes I had separated my tribe votes from my STEEM/HIVE votes with accounts like neal.leo, neal.pal, etc.

These days I just don't care that much about HIVE rewards. And going forward, most LEO users won't even know HIVE exists.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It still remains a very annoying system. Needing multiple accounts just makes it all a hassle and extremely time-consuming. I did that for Sports curation but haven't looked at that account in a long time. I just think it would make sense if there was a way to have both platforms separate when it comes down to votes that you give out.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, it's annoying. I solved it by just not caring :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have created 15 alternative accounts, for each tribe I'm involved. And I don't complain. Profits always comes at cost. Be it money, comfort, or time.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I mostly fear that the fact that it's all overly complicated will hold back the general adoption of the platform. I just can't see regular users who just want an enjoyable experience to create many different accounts.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's a great thing this is done for the LEO token now. If the results are good, then it can be implemented for the main tokens in a future hard fork.

Thanks for the video, do you think this change will hurt your rewards?

PS - you could do a collateralize debt obligation and place a bet on top of my bet with Khal.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think I'll lose some votes, yes. But over the long term my tokens will be worth more, so it's a net win.

No CDOs for me :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

What if there was a Reserve Curation Pool, along-side the regular one, that rewards early voters under certain conditions.

  1. The author has not earned more than n rewards in the last month.
  2. The curator is earliest but still stake-weighted.
  3. 1 in 10 chance that the Reserve Curation Pool is applied to a payout.

In a nutshell, there'd be a chance that something like the old curve is applied, on occasion. And if none of these criteria are met, the pool is just held until it does.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hurts my brain lol.

To me, any elements that add game-theory in this ecosystem are going to be taken advantage of by those who can optimize. And that's a bad thing for user experience.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Just the notion of the original curve hurts people's brain. There's something to be said for keeping it simple.

I just like the notion of the original intent to incentivize powering up. But you're probably right, it'll be exploited in some unforeseen way.