Sort:  

How so? It's a specific molecule with a particular structure. Whether you take a Psilocybe mushroom and isolate the substance or perform a total synthesis from simpler precursors, you still ultimately end up with the same thing:

Psilocybin Skeletal Formula

:) I hear you. But I don't think humans can recreate some things is all...

I don't think we're as smart as we think we are and I do know we don't know enough to know anything much at all really.

There's more to things than meets the skeletal formula, see?

Indeed there is more to things than a pictographic representation of a molecular structure! However, if pure psilocybin is the goal, that can and has been achieved by human beings. Of course, we human beings cannot create a Psilocybe mushroom, but that's a different thing entirely to what I'm talking about 😋

😆

I hear you, but I'm not convinced. Call me Woo Woo (although I'm not really)...

but I doubt it has the same desired effect at all.

I guess we will see if the synthesized stuff "works" then. And what side effects and all that nicely expensive stuff to take care of.

Big Pharma is going to be very sad that it can't sell multiple scripts for those, you know!

Call me a jaded skeptic and a pessimist, rather 😏

I understand, but I have no desire to call you anything 😄
Truly.

If the desired effect is to catalyse a psychedelic experience, then a quantity of positively identified pure psilocybin, at or above the threshold dose, will do that. How it became the key molecule is irrelevant to this fact. It is the active component of the naturally occurring mushroom. Any risk of side effect is the same as that presented by ingesting Psilocybe mushrooms directly.

According to Erowid that dose rate is 3-4mg and above.

Big Pharma is going to be very sad that it can't sell multiple scripts for those, you know!

I know what you're saying here, and I agree with you 100%: there are powerful incentives within for-profit industrialised medicine to create and sustain ongoing revenue streams. That is a real problem that needs solving, but it's a socio-economic issue, totally separate to the epistemic core of chemistry. It's an issue with how medicine is run: as a business, and not how we know what medicine is.

The solution to that problem is the complete decommodification of healthcare.

I guess we will see if the synthesized stuff "works" then. And what side effects and all that nicely expensive stuff to take care of.

Much of the scientific research on psychedelic compounds from the 20th century to the present has been done using isolated or synthesised samples. This is done to control variables, and whether they're inside a plant or fungi at the moment of ingestion or not, they work exactly the same way.

I am also a skeptic, and I think there's a healthy degree of cynicism we must mount when engaging with the modern world as individuals.

May you have a lovely day!

😊

:) Well that's not going to get a good argument going at all!

You're a scientist. So, once upon a time, you would have been a sage or a priest in all likelihood. How sad you've forgotten your roots ;)

Yes. Of course I understand. What I'm saying is that the fungi has some kind of awareness and consciousness. It does, you know. And the healing comes from their "spirit" (I know, I know but bear with me because these are very special creatures), that humans beings can't possibly recreate. Yet.

You may get a bit high... whoop dee whoop, but that's not what these liddle guys are here to offer, I suspect. Sure maybe you'll trip out, but you won't be gifted the knowledge, see?

But I'm speaking form the point of view of journeying and healing. Not just changing brain chemistry. You can also drink mentholated spirits and get high, you know :D

I guess we will see, in a few years of AI, whether humans are able to synthesize consciousness then...

Who are you? And hello! 😁

Loading...