You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Magic of Propaganda.

How about those folks claiming organic plastics are the way to go, from the comfort of their easy chairs, as they say it on a device, knowing nothing about farming and how much fuel and land it takes to produce organic plastics, instead of using that land and fuel to eat, as so many in the world go hungry, because one third of all food is thrown in the trash mainly due to best before dates, blemishes, dents in a can, or carelessness.

And let's use wood to heat the fires needed to melt the metals because we've not learned anything from the Rapa Nui?

This refreshing perspective could go on and on and stems from working on an organic seed farm. You know, the ones they say are healthy, better for us, yadda yadda yadda. But instead of using chemicals, more fuel is burned pulling primitive rod weeders. All while thousands of acres of land must sit, not producing food for one year at least, because a plant destined to be worked into the soil in order to replenish nutrients instead of using evil fertilizer must enjoy its turn to live.

And heaven forbid the world heats up back to the levels once creating fertile lands and rains even in the great desert known as Antarctica, providing habitat for the plants and animals that went extinct due to this ice age we're experiencing now. Saving those skyscrapers and mansions on the coast is far more important. I mean, how could one even fathom living on a planet that changes? Screw that...

Oh! And I'm fun at parties.

Sort:  

Daaaaaang, lol.

I believe there's been recent discoveries regarding the Rapa Nui history, but I know little about it. I also know little about the chemicals vs. rod weeders situation, but I get your overall points regardless.

I've never worked on an organic seed farm but... wow. Pretty eye-opening stuff.

Anyway, I generally agree with embracing change, and that the planet's resilience is often overlooked and downplayed.

I could definitely see this going over well at parties, lol.

LOL. I usually keep it to myself. And with the Rapa Nui, they believe, in order to position those Easter Island head monument things, they chopped down all the trees. Then didn't even have wood to make boats, couldn't fish, things like that. Basically stripped the island clean of resources. Then couldn't even leave.

Likely prudently so, lol. 🤣

That sounded pretty extreme, so I googled around a bit to read more of the story and found this: https://www.sapiens.org/archaeology/easter-island-demise/ -- they offer an alternative narrative, any thoughts?

Regardless, I'm glad to dip my toe into the waters and learn a bit more about it, and whether all the details are correct or not, the concepts behind it seem relevant. Much obliged for summarizing. 🙏

Well. I guess that's just another example of how information evolves. I'm sure the researchers initially coming up with theories had good intentions. For the most part, we can still only guess. I can't help it if one human says one thing, sounds convincing, and other humans say something else, as well as sound convincing.

Knowing more is always nice.

Well said, and I whole-heartedly agree. 🙃