You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does Hive Need Anything Else To Succeed?

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

I ran out of people to tell. Can't keep pushing them. They're either interested, or they're not.

That being said, in your speech your mentioned the fun factor. I've had difficulties bringing people over by talking about the platform, crypto, blockchain and stuff like that. It goes right over their heads. But as soon as I share a link to my content with them, they click and are instantly having fun using some of the products this chain has to offer. Hive isn't failing so I don't know what it needs to succeed but I know as a content creator, I need those consumers here. This platform will not suffer if they bring some of their money with them and learn about this fancy new way to support content creators with money that never leaves their wallet.

I think if I see one more push to onboard more content creators, and no interest at all in filling the seats that surround the stage with consumers, then having to sit here for months watching people scratch their heads, argue and complain, wondering why engagement is low and and it's hard to get noticed/views... dude, I'll snap. I mean that lightheartedly of course. That trend has been kind of painful to watch all these years though. People literally get paid to enjoy, support, and engage with content here. Nowhere else on the internet are they treated so fairly. That's the easiest market to tap into. They don't have to worry about showing up and failing either, since its impossible. And having more around solves so many other headaches. And the best part is, they tell their friends.

Sort:  

I ran out of people to tell. Can't keep pushing them. They're either interested, or they're not.

Story. Of. My. Life.

And...I've kind have ramped down how many people I tell. Too many cynical people viewing me telling them about crypto as "me trying to get rich off of them" for some reason, even though I'm a musician in KC networks, been one for years, and I'm telling other musicians about it, about self ownership of production and taking the middleman music industry out. I can't really be bothered with people like that. Maybe it is just the group I'm around.

I kinda wish all those local based crypto groups would have moved to HIVE when they got kicked off of Facebook. I need to find birds of a feather I think.

Yes, attitude "trying to get rich off them" combined with the stigma attached to crypto makes it difficult to even drum up some support even for myself. And I don't know one artist/entertainer/writer/anything that got anywhere depending on friends and family alone. You need a crowd of potentially interested people stumbling into something new. And it's not hard to make that crowd form when they know they're being rewarded for being there, but that message can't come from some random individual on the internet. Trust me on that one because that's all I am here, pointing out some obvious stuff combined with some experience in the biz, but going nowhere. Of course I don't take it personally. It's becoming a form of entertainment for me.

Yeah I guess that's the crux of it, I'm not really a random individual for these people. I've shared stage space with most of these people, been to their studios and vice versa, known them for years. It's just a weird culture that eh, I'm abstaining from more and more.

The onus is on me to find likeminded people interested in crypto locally. Those circles are where I need to be talking about HIVE and posting my LEO blogs, etc.

I don't create crypto content. Rarely consume it.