ANOTHER HIVE USER RAGE-QUITS

in LeoFinance2 months ago

illustrations by Storyset

I just witnessed another Hive user rage quit (again). His tantrums started on Twitter. He even unfollowed my account on Hive, which I find weird because I am not remotely the cause of his problem. It was sad and funny at the same time. I have been here long enough to see people come and go, and they always do so for the same reason.

The major mistake people like him make on Hive is assuming that effort equals reward or payout. They think that the more effort they put into creating, engaging, and community building, the more it will pay off in the long or short run, but that's not true. This said person attended HiveFest, contributed significantly to some big projects on Hive, and makes great content, but that has not translated to more earnings (which is the reason he is rage-quitting).

Hivers often shoot themselves in the foot by paying forward. They do this by putting time and effort, forgoing short-term gains, or disregarding them completely with the hope that it will pay off in the future. However, they get disappointed when it does not and rage quit. In the end, you cannot blame the platform because it did not promise you anything.

Another thing people do when building on Hive is lie. They lie about being community-centric and not caring about money, but you can clearly see they are motivated by rewards, and there is nothing wrong with that. Just be honest with yourself and the community. Articulate the things you want to achieve and what you are willing to contribute to the chain so that when those things do not align, you can walk away without any animosity in your heart.

There are no real metrics to determine how much you earn on Hive. There is no method to this madness. The only seemingly certain way to earn more Hive is to stake more, and not everybody wants to do that, and that does not even guarantee anything. So, I reiterate, there is no method to this madness.

HOW DO YOU APPROACH HIVE IN A BENEFICIAL WAY TO YOU AND THE PLATFORM?

illustrations by Storyset

Firstly, lower your expectations. As long as Hive purports to be a content-based platform, it is not. There are more important things like stake, which is where most of the value comes from. So if you are coming here hoping to make it big as a content creator, then you may need to rethink because firstly there isn't the audience for that. Secondly, the platform doesn't have enough to support creators.

It is best to approach Hive as a long-term project with no guarantee. As a content creator, you can back up your content here and earn Hive tokens, which might be valuable in the future, while you continue to use platforms on web 2.0.

If you want to be a community member and support different projects, then you can do that with minimum expectations and limit your time on the chain. Don't end up spending 40+ hours on the chain hoping for some sort of compensation; it doesn't work that way.

Also, be on the lookout for opportunities. Avoid getting stuck in one place. There are new projects and communities looking for active members; find them and contribute. If it's not worth your time or effort, then move on to something else.

Lastly, do not compare yourself to other people. There is a hierarchy of creators and contributors, and there are levels you will never reach. Closure comes from understanding how the system works and how best you can benefit and contribute to it. Remember, no one owes you anything.

I am sorry if Hive did not provide you with the recognition and reward you wanted. I know how that feels. Nevertheless, you need to take full responsibility for your journey. Maybe you overcompensated, but you can make up for it by having a more realistic view of the platform.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

When I hear such stories I can't shake the feeling that people have an expectation towards the blockchain without thinking what the community and the blockchain require from them. People often come to hive and expect to get money according to their work and effort. They might realize in doesn't work and then they try to shortcut it in other ways through low quality post and automated upvotes. Growing on hive works differently. It requires time, effort, stake but also building relationships, helping others, promoting the chain and enjoying your time...


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project! Check out our Reading Suggestions posts! Comment Footer.jpg Please consider voting for our Liotes HIVE Witness. Thank you!

It requires time, effort, stake but also building relationships, helping others, promoting the chain and enjoying your time...

This unfortunately guarantees nothing and I don't preach it anymore. You need to do all these things to benefit from the chain but it is not a guarantee; it is not that straightforward and that is where most of the resentment comes from. It is all about managing your expectations and avoiding burn outs from trying to prove yourself or value (esp if you don't particularly enjoy content creation and networking).

I agree that there is no guarantee at all but as you wrote the "most secure" way to earn on hive is through the stake but again there is no guarantee there either :-)

Censorship resistance was my motivation for joining Hive. At first I was distracted by the rewards. But later I realized that what is important is that I can’t get something for nothing. So I started buying HIVE. I wasn’t waiting around to earn. Unlike other platforms, you can buy your status once and for all instead of monthly.

I get what you are saying but I am addressing something different which is the dapp experience and culture, and how to improve interaction on hive. I understand people are here for different reasons but content is an important part of the chain. How people interact with content is important to the substance of the chain and we should adopt and incentivise the part of behaviour that makes the platform not only fun for users but also profitable for dapp developers

Hive isn't a get-rich thing but instead focuses on content creation, and making future savings, not quick riches. Don't get burned out chasing payouts because it can be overwhelming. Explore projects; move on if they're not a good fit. Be your own Hive boss, contribute, and take what you need, but keep it chill and don't force it too much.

I wonder if it is unique to Hive the whole rage-quit thing. There are some things I don't like on Hive, but it's easier to adapt yourself, your expectations and still enjoy the many positive things on chain.

There are some things I don't like on Hive, but it's easier to adapt yourself, your expectations and still enjoy the many positive things on chain.

True that. People are just one dimensions and cannot see beyond their biases and needs. I have been here through different phases and have made things work out for me. I wish other people did the same.

That's the mindset most people do come on Hive with. I think it would help if their boarders told them everything about the platform and also how you can't make quick money here.

It's not only about telling them they will be paid in dollars, they need to know it's slow but surely they'll get there

Some things are better not said but implied. I believe if the culture of the Hive was different or better, newbies will adopt it regardless.

People should lower their expectations on hive.. I think this will make them to have a long-term expectations rather than immediate gratification. I wish him well

For me it is more about articulating your goals. Most people come here wanting to make money not know how much they can make based on their network, content and skill. They end up doing too much, and getting too little. The goal is to find the balance between EFFORT and REWARD.

Thanks for stopping by.

Too much expectations can leave someone frustrated and heartbroken when things don't go as planned.

As you have said, a lot of people aren't honest with their motive for joining the blockchain. We all want money but what are we giving in return?

I hope many people learn from this and stop hurting themselves emotionally because whether they are here or not, Hive will continue to thrive.

I hope many people learn from this and stop hurting themselves emotionally because whether they are here or not, Hive will continue to thrive.

A very valid point. Hive is here regardless. Your goal is to do what you can and make the best out of the opportunity this space provide. If it doesn't work out for you, simply move on. Easier said than done.

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @george-dee suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

I've seen so many people 'rage quit'. Sometimes it's when they feel they have been unfairly downvoted and they don't help their case by attacking the community. When it comes to rewards Hive can seem unfair. It does depend a lot on who you know, but quality can shine. I think the Vibes contest is getting rewards to people who earn them. Others get complacent as they know they will make a lot whatever they put out.

A lot of newer people won't know what it was like in the early days when some posts made $1000s whilst most of us made cents, but the algorithm was different then. Now a top post can make around $100 which seems fair given the size of the community. I think it will change if Hive can grow a lot. The reward pool will get spread thinner, but then the price ought to go up. I personally think that I do okay, but I don't take my rewards for granted.

Hive (soci-fi) success depends mainly on more people joining and using the the blockchain, I don't believe that will work because there aren't that many great content and people are not incentivized to create great content and share that content.

Hopefully, there is a collective push to increase the standards here through metric based curation. I don't know how that will pan out, but creators need to know that putting in the work pays in the long run without having to engage in Hive politics (even this does not guarantee anything).

For instance, I know if I earn a certain amount of view and engagement on Tiktok or X I will entitled to some form of reward, so I can make the conscious effort to grow my audience. Here it is the very opposite. Views, engagement, following doesn't matter. We have many people chasing the wind and empathize with them. The blockchain is losing most of its core community member (that have been here for years) and are not replacing them at the same rate. That is worrisome.

I think Hive offers an alternative to the corporate platforms where most people can't earn anything. I know artists who make more here than elsewhere. Those other platforms can change the rules at any time so people lose the chance to earn. Of course Hive has issues, but it does a lot of good every day. The police/politics stuff may not be as bad as some make out, but a few people do have a lot of power. It is in their interest for Hive to grow.

I do more on Hive than any other platform. Twtr and FB suck now and I have never used Tiktok.

A chain cannot be sustainably run on charity and the benevolence of a few. Meritocracy is system that is result based. It rewards quality, hardwork and talent, and encourages that sort of behaviour. I will argue that small creators tend to also benefit from such a system as well.

It's not really charity as this model of rewards does not really exist elsewhere. I see it as better than funding with intrusive ads, but no system is perfect. For now Hive is tiny and I want to see how it works on a larger scale. More people need to give it a try.

I accept that I probably make more than my content deserves, but with the stake I have built up I could have a nice income just from curation if Hive grows.