Autofarm's returns drop as Minting finishes

in LeoFinance3 years ago

What is Autofarm?

Autofarm is the leading auto compounding defi application on BSC. The CUB kingdoms were modelled after autofarm, and it currently has over $600m of TVL (used to be $800m+), as shown by its defi llama ranking below:

image.png

As can be seen there is a massive leakage of TVL from autofarm recently, this is because their autofarm coin, has finished minting, and no more rewards are provided for participating in pools.

Minting has finished

This announcement form autofarm summarises the autofarm situation, you now don't receive any rewards for investing in the pools, the only advantage now is that you don't have to compound yourself.
image.png

This has lead to returns on the autofarm vaults to be less than the return on directly investing.

Returns compared to CUB

CUB invests in similar farms, like pancakeswap, so its underlying assets are exactly the same.

I have a comparison website I am working on looking at returns on each platform, and the autofarm returns have dramatically dropped as there is no more platform APR reward, but still fees are taken out.

image.png

How can we attract some autofarm TVL to CUB

I am looking for ideas for being able to attract some of this autofarm TVL across to CUB. Perhaps someone with better journalistic skills than me can write an article, any other ideas you have please comment below, I am sure this community will reward you with any ideas and action that generates TVL and ultimately value for CUB holders.

Preview of yield comparison site

Its still under development, but I thought I would give a preview of the yield comparison site, features planned include:

  1. Sortable tables so you compare the same farm over different platforms, or just look for the highest yield
  2. filterable content, so you can just look at one asset
  3. historical yield comparisons, so that you can see how stable the yield has been

image.png
I will also be releasing a limited release NFT (which can be claimed for free.. apart from gas), which has no use case just yet, but my promise would be if I do ever have any smart contracts of my own, this NFT will give a boost of some sort to those smart contracts. There will be limited supply so more on that later.

Stay tuned.. its probably 2 weeks away before public release, but hopefully this will be a great tool so that people can optimise their portfolios

And don't forget comment below on ideas, or action you have taken to try to get the word out about CUB, and its superior returns to autofarm!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Oh I didn't realize that the kingdoms were modelled after autofarm. I thought it was pretty much the first and what will make us stand out from the rest.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The CUB kingdom with the BNB rewards is different, so there is a different spin on it

Ah ok. How often does the Cub Kingdom pay BNB dividends? I recall getting some after it first started but it wasn't enough to show up. Afterwards, I tend to see that it generally follows BNB prices so I don't even know if we have been getting BNB dividends lately.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is truly an amazing idea !

I had no prior knowledge to these rewards fading out so soon !

I have a comparison website I am working on looking at returns on each platform, and the autofarm returns have dramatically dropped as there is no more platform APR reward, but still fees are taken out.

I cannot wait to see this website and I will definitely do a Youtube Video about it and an article to get some of these funds towards our beloved CubDeFi.

On the same topic, how do you see Autofarm retaining its TVL with no more incentives? (except autocompounding)

Thanks @notak for your hard work

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Autofarm will likely drop in its TVL, its already down 20%

I am not big on defi curently but I think if it is possible to get more eye balls on cub then I am down for that. Hopefuly someone comes up with the articles you spoke of and wishing the best in your project. cheers

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

People are looking for Autofarm alternatives.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah TLV can be increased especially in kingdoms...I think cubdefi needs more advertisement as a platform.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That definitely sounds like a great opportunity to target Autofarm users and try to migrate people over to Cub. I'm out of the loop with BSC DeFi, are their other platforms along the line of Autofarm out there with much TVL, besides Cub?

Maybe the time for CubFinance to get a little marketing budget, and try to raise its profile a bit.

Your comparison website sounds like a great idea.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta