You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Cost of NOT Understanding "Cost Of Living" - Lessons Parents Need to Teach Their Children

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Its really important to track your expenses so that you know how much you spend, because in tough times, you need to know what levers you can pull to get by.

I was also fascinated with how cheap everything is, I am guessing you are form USA? I'm from Australia, and our fruit and vegetables are about 10-30% higher in almost all categories.

An example would be tomatoes, which vary by season, but we pay around $4-5 per kg, if I convert this to pounds and USD, this comes to $1.75 per pound, versus the $1.54.

It got me wondering why? perhaps bigger population more efficiency and economy of scale? sorry I know this is off topic, but reading your article triggered me to think about it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I agree. If you don't know what you are spending your money on and how much you are spending, it is hard to make adjustments if tough times?

I am from the United States. I live in a part of the US called the Midwest, which typically has a lower cost of living than the coastal areas of the US. There are a lot of factors that influence prices.

It would be really challenging to pinpoint all the factors that would impact the price difference between where we live. Transportation cost, drought, strikes, etc are some of the factors that could cause the 10 to 30% price difference.

Thanks for stopping by!