You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Everyone needs to know JavaScript

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I started learning both HTML and JavaScript.

For now, my attention is mostly focused on HTML, once I learn that, next stop is CSS and JavaScript.

I'm still new, but I did some research and literally everyone I listened to, said to start with the basic architecture, and then upgrade it with JS.

Am I doing it right?

Sort:  

If you want to build websites, then yeah that seems like a good appoach. If instead you're interesting in back-end systems, or have some desire to build anything with crypto, I would skip HTML and CSS and go straight to Javascript.

HTML and CSS don't really help you learn JS any better, because they are completely different. It's like learning sign language isn't going to make you a better Japanese speaker.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think back-end demands a lot more math and I haven't really payed attention to it.

It's also harder to learn. Though it's the best way to start frontend, at least for the beginning until I get a full understanding.

Learned a bit of python tho, but wasn't dedicated enough.

I'm curious what you mean about "demanding a lot more math". I've been doing development for a loooong time, and I very rarely do any math. If anything, front-end requires math sometimes to get the viewport right.

The advice I always give people just starting out is to focus on what you enjoy. If you love making web pages look nice, start with front-end. If you love building crypto contracts, then start there. Don't let what you think will be difficult dissuade you from doing that.

Learned a bit of python tho, but wasn't dedicated enough.

And that of course is the problem, not being sufficiently interested in the topic. That's why I would encourage you to follow your interests first.

Good luck!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta