You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Is How Hive Bonds Will Work

in LeoFinance9 months ago (edited)

This sounds over complicated to me. I loved the simplicity of HBD savings … the more you invest in HBD , the more you earn, the longer you leave it invested, the more you earn. It’s called Compound Interest. It’s like Magic. We don’t need bonds or more second layer coins. Hive + Hive Power + HBD are enough. Hive should fix the Downvote abuse problem before it does anything else.

B144AC78-020A-4B46-8096-029E10657CFB.jpeg

Sort:  

What downvote problem?

There is no Downvote problem. Everything is good now. Update: There is zero Hive Downvote Abuse Problem. Everything has been fixed. Just a simple misunderstanding on my part. I negotiated a Truce and All Hive downvote wars have ended.

I'm not naming names bc I'm not trying to get stuck on someone's downvote list, but unless the problem was fixed within the past few days, there are definitely still some malcontents out there downvoting other people either bc of reasons unrelated to the content, discord skirmishes, grudges, countering upvotes, etc.

All problems are resolved for me. There are no more downvotes. Hive is awesome.

Downvotes are always a blessing in disguise.

Interesting take. What's your logic on that one?

Every time I get downvoted I sell all my Hive for Bitcoin…. It’s always perfect timing.

lol

!BEER


Hey @offgridlife, here is a little bit of BEER from @torran for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

Good enough for whom, though? I think if we want to appeal to a larger financial audience, we need to play the financial game. It's hardly complicated. I can imagine moving HBD to saving, and then the popup that already happens has a drop down menu to select which choice vault, then click OK. Done. I'm sure it'll be a bit more chaotic on the base layer but users probably won't be affected.

Though I don't see why the current status quo couldn't also just be one of those options (albeit with reduced APR because 20% with no commitment is hard to trust)

Why do we want to be like the Existing Banks ? We already have those … If I want bonds I go to the bank and buy bonds, CD’s , GICs… if I want to stake my crypto with the Hive Blockchain I park it in HBD savings forever. If I want to earn a good interest rate I leave it there and add more every day. If I don’t want to earn compounding interest I move it back to Hive Power and earn from Curation. More coins on 2nd layer that I need to exchange on Hive-Engine is adding layers of centralized control and fees.

We already have banks yeah, but we don't want them as centralised as they are. If we want to offer a viable alternative, it's smart to provide what the rest of the world provides, but better, rather than a hollowed out version of it that might not suit every lifestyle.

The HBD savings was never meant to be 20% forever, and will likely drop eventually to rates lower than my own country's current inflation rate. I would prefer the option to counter-act that inflation by holding it longer term, while also not being beholden to the whims of centralised banks who shut down out bank accounts arbitrarily.

I guess I don't really deal with any other 2nd layer coins and tokens so perhaps it seems overwhelming for the people who do, but for me it seems perfectly straight forward on the face of it.