To Write, or to Read?

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Most will agree, that reading and writing is like two antonyms? And it sure is.
It takes different skills, habits, experience, education etc etc.
Not everyone can be a good writer. Especially if you want to attract your readers, become popular.
Reading is easy, right?
But how many times your have heard that reading, besides your own pleasure (and bringing more knowledge, education) can also be profitable. And I mean - profitable in a very direct way?

readvswrite.jpg
LeoFinance is the first time where I found this possible. The name of this game is CURATION.
Last few weeks passed as my active curation job on LeoFinance.
Yes, a job. I feel now like I'm in a full time job. A "new" job after 3 years I've got in my retirement.

Because not only I want to share those daily upvotes, but I want to engage, make some comments, sometimes share my disagreement and/or support.
This makes me to read almost every new post here on LeoFinance. Otherwise how I could be able to engage there in the comment sections?
Occasionally I skip those posts, which I have no clue what author is talking about, or if I have absolutely no interest in the subject.
Naturally, these posts are left without my upvote. Nor comment. Please understand this.

PROFITS

Now, the main question. Can this "reading" be profitable?

Well, I never expected this can be, and be in such a high degree.
Bellow is a screenshot from my HIVESTATS page, made just a few minutes ago.

onealfa201023HiveStats2.jpg

It is very clear from this table, that I am probably a somewhat better reader than writer, author. Right? 😃
My author rewards are in the last, right edge column.

Seeing this table maybe can be enough reasons for everyone to try this - to accumulate your LEO tokens, power-up and read, read, curate, comment, engage.
At least - give it a try !
Your can't win if you don't try.

@onealfa

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Like I have said many times before, engagement is key.

I recently made a post of how much I had been able to earn during my 5 first days on LEO, and it was crystal clear that reading, or in other words, commenting, were a very profitable task. I say commenting because well-thought and meaningful comments comes from content consumers who reads the content.. That doesn't necessarily mean that someone will curate your comments though.

I personally would recommend everyone to engage and comment, much because I love manual curation, but I also believe that manual curation will boost the overall engagement which also leads to more active users in the long haul.

Comments however, is literally the best way to get some traction and exposure for a new user. It's a superb way to build your audience and to grow your stake at the same time. It's also easier to write meaningful comments than fully-blown articles, so literally everyone can do it. As long as they put in some effort and a little bit of time to actually read the content before they leave comments.

All in all, I would say that content creators needs content consumers.. And vice versa. Content consumers needs content to consume. What all of them wants in the end though, is engagement.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

wow.. these are crazy numbers, if im correct you are the largest account on leo and thanks for showing the potential for a curator (im more a content creator) but i would like to be like you!!

Im trying now to build a power only by writing and powering up everything, so lets see how the numbers starts going up, i will use this space on leo as an add on to my youtube content and of course ill invite people to join leo!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

There are many ways to get LEO. One can post and earn, curate, and buy. Large stakeholders tend to utilize all means of acquiring tokens.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

For me reading help me more than writing but it is not actually curation income.
I am able to take some nice decision based on some post/articles and just got my investment increase in value.
In most cases Data and facts are always there and now it goes on our reading and analyzing skills to get the rewards from it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's a nice position to be in!

Here's hoping more quality content comes our way!

living the dream!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Here's hoping more quality content comes our way!

This is obviously something all of us need to focus upon, regardless of what we are doing on here. If each of us takes responsibility for it, the standard will keep rising.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

To Write, or to Read?

My first thought was to ask about commenting. It seems like @hitmeasap has beaten me to it :-)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The thing is that while many cannot write in terms of blog posts, most anyone can leave comments. It is nice to see those being upvoted by the community since that provides incentive to engage others.

As for readers, I believe it would be smart for Leofinance to offer another token in the future to reward readers. This could be in the form of an access token of sorts, enabling readers to accumulate which then could be used to access different parts of Leofinance such as subscriptions or things like that.

Coingecko implemented a system kind of like this although it is more a show up each day and press a button to show you were there. Perhaps we can mull over ideas as ways to offer incentive to readers since the UI is now able to code whatever we basically want.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's crystal clear that you are indeed a good reader and a hell of a curator, but you know what else gives me reading?
Perspective and vision. Quite often I found myself changing old and not productive thinking patterns and all sort of strategy. Some of my best paid posts, as I consider myself a content creator and not at all a curator, have been a result of inspiration ignited by reading people's posts. Besides killing time with reading around here I also found it very creative with my writing my own posts. You get out of your world, pick some fragrances that you lacked and once back in the end result will be sweeter than your own mist. Time to get out now as i seem to exaggerate a bit with my cheap metaphors. I see it hardly important to simply do your thing around here and don't be a follower, each and one of us is good as something. You're a great curator and commentator, I'm a trying to be great content creator and we both have our spot and perfectly timed meaning for this platform. Great times to be alive, I tell you, when you have tge eyes to see the sunrise.

Pretty neat stats here! You're definitely nailing the curation game. I enjoy reading here too, as I get lots of new insights in crypto more specifically. It will be a long shot before I get to high curation yields (if even get there) but I'm trying to get as much Leo as I can afford. 😊 Authorship-wise, I'm using my main account, @arrliinn though I'm still thinking of topics that will fit this niche. 🤔 Comments will likely come from this account of mine since this is the one I use to browse and consume contents.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Interesting @onealfa.leo! (: I really love reading posts as well - it's like going down a rabbit hole...

But curation might not possibly yield that much for a Leo minnow like me.

Anyway, have fun at your "new job"! (:

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

My entire blogging career began with reading, then I found my way into writing, from commenting on peoples posts to writing my own posts, needless to say, i learn more by reading which has a lot of influence on my writing. With hive's distribution mechanism, reading is much more fun with curating along.

Loading...

curation has a way of adding beauty, real beauty to this platform. Thanks to curators such as yourself for making it happen. Cheers!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @onealfa.leo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies. Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz support the Papillon Foundation Charity project
October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month

NNNNNNNNIIIIIIIIIIICCCCCCEEEEEEEEEE!!!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

sir your Salary is Equal President TRUMP

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I really like reading, why do I like reading because reading is so much fun and it never makes me bored, and reading can also clear our minds and sometimes when we find funny words it's even more fun of course Amazing post normal sir @onealfa.leo Thank you very much for this interesting story

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If we together try or go, we will win or reach.
In this platform, it is more important Power having than others.
Is it right or worse?

Thank for engaged post

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta