Toruk: 60 hits in 10 days

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Time flies fast.

It has been already ten days, since I decided to change my pattern of curation in a radical way, and have announced in this my post.
This post got a significant reaction from the community, been reblogged 28 times, and collected 128 comments.
To my surprise, not so many negative/critical replies, I was expected way more of such.

Another thing, where my expectations did not become reality, was that I would save significant amount of my time while doing LEO curations. There are so many good posts every day, that I got to read just as much, or even more, in order to decide which 5 or 6 posts every day deserve this "hard" hit. Trying to stay above 80% of power depletion, we just can not make more of them in one single day.

With my present 516,666.666 LEO tokens staked, I got control of 11.6% of all staked LEO's, as per todays numbers.
As not every LEO stake holder always make a full utilization of his curation powers (i.e allows idling it at 100% for a certain period), this probably covers even larger percentage of all rewards pool tokens, distributed every day. ( my guess would be 12-13%)

toruk60in10.jpg

So here is some statistics:
Number of 100% hits in these 10 days: 60
Number of authors hit : 51
Qty of authors who have been hit more than once: 8

All past targets listed in a chronological order:

Several authors been hit more than once:
@bagofincome
@chekohler
@dalz
@edicted
@hitmeasap
@jrcornel
@scottcbusiness
@taskmaster4450

I have noticed some degree of negative reaction last few days. Perhaps my banner posts (in comment area) are becoming to annoying for many. So from now on, I will do it in a silent mode, and will not post those banners anymore.
The daily 100% upvotes will be continued for yet an undetermined period, at least until Christmas.

At what altitudes Toruk is flying?

Due to ever changing Hive and Leo token supplies, the qualify levels are not static, and during the past 10 days have increased by +0.37% (For Toruk by +3228 Leo's). As of today, these qualifying levels are as follows:

levels_dec20.gif

Toruk is flying at rather safe 8.25% margin above it

myleo_dec20.gif

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

You cannot please everyone, so you will always have negative reactions.
I don't like the banner too, but that's more a graphical thing. The initiative itself is great and that's not only because I've received a nice upvote myself 😉

So from now on, I will do it in a silent mode, and will not post those banners anymore.

You should do whatever you want. I think it's good to show people why they get your upvote. Especially those who missed your introduction post. Maybe just skip the ugly banner 😜

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Maybe just skip the ugly banner

Thanks for being honest.
I'm not a graphic designer. But this raised an idea.
Maybe I should raise a challenge, a contest, for creating a much better one, and then renew this damn thing after this break, after week or so?

Anyone wants to create a better poster "TORUK was here"?

50 LEO prize for the winner !

(not as an upvote, but straight from my own pocket)

Or 500 LEO delegation for 100 days, winners choice. 😃
Any takers?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

well, there's an excuse for me to download gimp again ;)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

i can probably do better - haven't played with gimp in forever

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's what I love about the leo community.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm not a graphics designer too, but I'm handy with Gimp. Let's see if I can come op with something better; me and my big mouth :D

[EDIT]

I know people can do better than this, but it's just an example.
I think it's a bit more personal :)

onealfa.png

Cute and subtle

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks. I saw @onealfa is already using another one :)

Pretty kewl what you're doing!

toruk.jpg
...tried sending this via discord dm but I guess the plebs are blocked ;p

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

here's the ones i came up with so far
this new gimp 2.10 is way different than the olde one i had - learning curve

this last one can be used with div class = 'pull-right'

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's very nice what you are doing by boosting content on leofinance. I am on that list and happy about that.

I do disagree on this attitude that you expressed on the following:

I have noticed some degree of negative reaction last few days. Perhaps my banner posts (in comment area) are becoming to annoying for many. So from now on, I will do it in a silent mode, and will not post those banners anymore.

Lets set things straight: you are the user with the most LP in this community and chose to share some 100% upvotes on a daily basis, with some of the content creators in here. What's wrong with that? You could have simply set an auto vote and put your money to work... but NO.

This Toruk was here message is a label, your label, and personally have nothing against it. I would also ask the ones getting such sort of reactions if they felt that negative as well when bid bots were boosting posts on Steemit and leaving this type of automated messages on posts that were paying for upvotes.

I guess they were not that vocal back then...

I applaud your attitude towards using your VP organically and supporting users who bring value to the platform. It's way way better than simply setting a curation trail for your VP or some auto votes, boosting the same users over and over again.

Congratulations for being able to harness that much LP and have fun using it!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

if they felt that negative as well when bid bots were boosting posts on Steemit and leaving this type of automated messages on posts

I don't want even remember steem, justinsun, ned or anything related to them. Nor I like even hear comparisons.
We can, and we will do things different, our Leo style.

It's way way better than simply setting a curation trail for your VP or some auto votes,

Unfortunately, I still see several our top LEO stake holders (from LEO TOP20) using the most simple, dumb autovoters, which vote on the 30-th second, or within first 2 minutes. Absolutely clear they do the votes on the same authors, again and again, no matter what BS they are posting. So sad.

Sure, not every investor has time to do quality curation. Fine, I can understand this.
Then why not to set a following (!) voting bot, which will cast a vote on posts which are at least qualifying fir the minimum requirements??? Set it to follow votes of taskmaster, khaleelkazi, abh12345, empoderat, mindtrap, make it to kick in once your power exceeds 98%, and when target posts are at least a day or two old - and you are fine. This would work as enforcer, amplifier of your preferred and respected curator. And NOBODY will ever get a chance to blame you on a dumb use of your stake.

We all have our favorite authors. But even the best of them sometimes fail. We all fail (sometimes)

Such dumb autovoting makes those targets (authors) to relax, post multiple times a day low value stuff, and removes the motivation and desire to grow - completely.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Unfortunately, I still see several our top LEO stake holders (from LEO TOP20) using the most simple, dumb autovoters, which vote on the 30-th second, or within first 2 minutes. Absolutely clear they do the votes on the same authors, again and again, no matter what BS they are posting. So sad.

True. I've seen that as well, but it's their VP, time and dedication so... who am I to judge.

Such dumb autovoting makes those targets (authors) to relax, post multiple times a day low value stuff, and removes the motivation and desire to grow - completely.

Moreover, they somehow take the chance away from others to make themselves known on the platform. I'm old fashioned and I like human interaction on every level. Bots may have their purposes as well but not projects where socializing is mandatory.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If you follow my votes, then you are following the leo finance curation account, as that it what i do :)

I want to second that. There's always going to be some negativity, but I felt like that Toruk was here banner was something special, an approval of excellence if you will.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Exactly. It's not like you would see it on some crappy posts spamming the platform.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If you publish an article anywhere on the internet and someone supports your article financially, who will turn that away just because he/she doesn't like the shape or appearance of the wallet you carry your money in?

That just doesn't make sense to me, the value and the function of the monetary value you receive remains the same.

I consider appearing in this list of yours an honor and a privilege and I am grateful for that regardless of the banner or the format of the comment.

I do not believe that you have achieved the influence you currently have, by sitting around and doing nothing. The welfare and future of this blockchain are clearly important to you and close to your heart.

Why should you now be dictated to about the manner in which you post your comments?

If you wish to change it and have a little fun competition, all well. But in my opinion, that is your choice.

If you publish an article anywhere on the internet and someone supports your article financially, who will turn that away just because he/she doesn't like the shape or appearance of the wallet you carry your money in?

Exactly! There were even complains from people about getting small automated votes on old posts. Autovoting was to keep the VP reaching 100% People can be nuts sometimes. Why hate the guy who is literally helping you. You can have disagreements with a person etc. But hating someone for helping you is bizarre.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I came to thank that I am also on this list. I think I received that vote for encouragement and I want to confess that when I saw the "Sign of Toruk" on my post I had as much joy as the surprise that I was elected.
I understand that there were negative reactions about the banner!?! However, it was not a graphics contest ... whoever refers negatively to the banner proves that it does not differentiate between form and substance. That banner was supposed to attract the attention of both the author of the post and the community. The first to announce that he has achieved something special, to be an impetus for the others. I consider that the banner is well done and fulfills the purpose for which it was created.

Unfortunately for me, after this post which was noticed by Toruk I could not write anything. I can't find anything that I think brings value and then I don't write. I was really thinking of giving up, maybe this niche is not for me. I think it's a bit more than that, I can't find anything interesting to write in Hive anymore. Although in almost four years I wrote almost daily, now it is more and more difficult for me. Maybe the inspiration is gone, maybe the recent experience with covid left worse marks than I imagined ...

Why do I make this confession? Because that "ugly" banner from my last post forces me to try again, because I received the trust of an important man from here and who does not compromise and that I am ashamed to be a character who came to "take the money and run" away! I mean, I want to testify that this vote from @onealfa obliges me!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Do not give up. Maybe you just need to take time, but not stopped at all. Everyone has great opportunities here.

Writer's block is a human thing. So don't be hard on yourself enjoy this platform.

I just write about how to expanding ideas a couple of hours ago.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you! I'm tempted to take into consideration your recommendation.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I can't find anything that I think brings value and then I don't write.

I have been feeling this a lot lately. I knew my postings in Leo Finance would probably be few and far between and most of my interaction would be through commenting and curating. Even with that my Hive posting numbers have suffered mostly because I feel I don't have the quality content to present. I have been exploring other Hive communities hoping to get the creative juices flowing and the confidence to begin posting a little more often. :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That means we are in the same boat! Maybe it's a problem of the moment and we'll get over it as soon as possible.
I can't write about crypto and blockchain now where everyone else is much more skilled, it would be a shame to do that. I try to learn as much as possible to get to speak the same language with them. Until then, like you, I will focus on curation and comment.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I find it frankly absurd that someone could contest the voting method you choose or the Toruk post you release when you decide to make a comment. Free protests that objectively make no sense, beyond the polemical spirit. That said, and I told you once before, your stake is truly monstrous and your commitment to the community is remarkable.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Banner on the post that you vote is cool for me, and I believe many users feel same thing with me, especially the authors with small amount of vote everyday.

When you comment on my post a couple of days ago, I feel happy and it makes me more excited to make posts.

Overall, thank you for your effort for doing this.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well. I can understand that "something to much - is to much."
Humans can be jealous, can get annoyed and angry because they believe they are posting way better stuff, and yet been not selected.

I feel I already got enough publicity (28 reblogs, and 60 banners displayed) so I can stop this now.
The great feature in LEOFINANCE UI allows anyone anytime to check, from where all these rewards on a particular post has came:

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes agree with you. Always any jealous people that think they are better, but they have no support others :(

Great features on Leo, I also always check out where are my rewards came to

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congrats! I hope you won't let negativity get to you. Just do what you do and curate what you like. Your effort is appreciated.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I am glad to be a beneficiary of that 100% hits. You are really doing well looking out for quality contents to hit with the 100% upvote. Though I wish to be hit more than once or twice, Thrice isn't so bad hahahahaha.
And your banner post makes it even unique, I don't see why you should get any negative reaction with that. Well, I love it so if ever you are to hit my blog, please come with the banner post. Its a trademark I like so much to see in my post.
A signature I am proud to see and be like wow, Onealfa came around lol

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks for doing the 'organic' work - it's really nice to see.

I'm an old hold over from the steemit days - where all the whales would just self upvote and run bot pools with each other and just rape the reward pool.

Keep up the great work ;)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

To begin with, it's really amazing that you do all this, let alone the fact that you manually cast your votes. I am casting every vote manually as well since i joined these platforms almost 4 years ago so i get you!

What's most important for me when you give out these big upvotes, is that you give a huge boost of motivation. The money aspect is a bit irrelevant because ok it's a big vote that equals quite the amount but it doesn't mean we gonna get it again.

Thus, i for example gain a huge motivation boost, thinking that my posts indeed deserve something and then try harder to reach more users and ofc to manage to get another Toruk Vote!

Regarding the negative comments about the label, honestly, i don't know what's wrong with people, what's the matter. It's like your personal signature, maybe those that are negative wanted to receive a vote but never did. i am curious though to search a bit and find one of these comments :P i wanna see what they are saying!


All in all your initiative is awesome. I wished and i have said it multiple times, to accumulate quite the LP power. Then i reward them better, as i deem they worth more!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well done Alfa. Love what you're doing for the community. I know most of those authors your upvoted and I can confirm that they're renowned for the quality content and belief they bring into the community.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Impressive statistics, wonderful. Very grateful because you chose me. Unfortunately I am null to very tiny to help with the vote.

Damn.. 11% is huge. Good to see required LEO for the next level is going up. Not. A couple of those that you hit more than once I've never heard of.. time to investigate

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Great job, I like a lot of the posts that you have picked to upvote. I often find myself following you with a 100% of vote on many posts that you chose. I know it's hard watching that vote power depleted, some days there just doesn't seem to be enough to go around.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm honored to have Toruk vote on two of my articles! Thank you, your work here is brilliant!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Having that much say in distribution comes with some serious responsibility and the effort you put in is commendable! I’m 600 tokens short of lion and hope to get there pretty soon and do my bit to encourage the leo behaviour I feel benefits the platform!

We can’t let you do all the work, we all need to do our bit and take some of the heavy lifting along with khal

We’re all angel investors in this project

First, make a challenge for awesome designers to make a new shiny banner.

And continue to use the banner, is important for people to know about it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Moved and grateful that some of my post got your vote. It is a joy and excitement to see that message in the publications. People like you and curators of the platform are what makes life happy, they make my dreams more peaceful.

Because I ensure the nutrition of my daughter, with each positive vote received.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Negative reactions should be expected, but pleasing everyone is a challenging task to achieve.

The toruk is a great innovation, and I hope that it grows beyond just the 5-6 days daily 80% upvotes.

I haven't gotten the votes yet, but consistency and dishing out quality posts will change that soon.

Lastly, I don't think anyone owes anyone anything on the platform. You are doing a great job. Please keep it up

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have noticed some degree of negative reaction last few days. Perhaps my banner posts (in comment area) are becoming to annoying for many. So from now on, I will do it in a silent mode, and will not post those banners anymore.

This is a pity.

I rather enjoyed seeing your banner spread around as I travel the Leofinance platform.

It is a fun game you created and it adds to the interaction.

Cast the negative nellies aside and keep posting it.

It is a great idea to run a contest to let someone design a kick ass graphic for you.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

By the way, not sure if you want it in your numbers but you excluded the LBI which your 10,0002 are worth 1.0022 LEO each.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Why would someone be annoyed by one banner in the comment section? Especially if that is a sign that it has received a fat LEO upvote? :) :)

Thanks for the mention, and I will work hard to be again on this list in the future... It creates a good motivating effect on authors to continue with the creation of quality posts...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks for the "hit", @onealfa.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is so cool. I found so many great people to follow on your list. You may have spent a lot of time doing this but I really appreciate it. It was hard for me to find the best content creators here. You did it for me!!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Woooohoooo! I made it!

I have noticed some degree of negative reaction last few days. Perhaps my banner posts (in comment area) are becoming to annoying for many.

What! How crazy can these people get. It was a great initiative. There were tons of rewards distributed and people complain about a banner looking like something from 90s internet!

I like seeing some banner. It's like a small award saying "hey, this post is good stuff". I like the @rxhector banner with something on the right to clear out the negative space.

You can try out https://dpoll.io to ask community to gauge their responses. Have a great day :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I am happy to see @cryptoandcoffee's name in that list. He puts out a lot of good stuff. I have been following him for several years now and he definitely deserves the big boost! This is awesome what you are doing for others in the community. I know curation can be hard. It feels like a second job for me. Sometimes I just let it slide a bit because my main job takes priority. I usually keep my votes going out even if I don't comment on everything. I know it is just wasted money if I let my VP sit at 100%!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Wow, thanks for the mention. I am so happy I got mentioned in the "Toruk is here initiative". It is also good to know that it saves your time.

For me the banner isn't a problem maybe, just because I am not a graphics person and do not take into consideration those things.

If you decide on creating a new banner, it is no problem to me but then it shouldn't be to please people because no matter what a person does, he or she can never please people. You will always have others to criticize about it.

For me seeing that banner on my post gave me a lot of joy but if you had done it silently i wouldn't have known about the initiate and the purpose of the initiative because I never saw the original post about "Toruk is here" initiative until the day I saw the banner on my post.

The "Toruk is here" banner on any one's post gives a person a sense of belonging on Leofinance most especially those that are still trying to stand in the platform and makes one want to strive to make quality post to be able to get more big guys on Leofinance on there post.

Your upvote and comment on a post gives one so much joy than you can imagine.

The banner shouldn't be a problem and if it is to others, i think it is there problem.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

So much has been written in this post so I will keep mine short...
I felt really proud a few days ago to see that I had received a visit from you.
I felt proud that you found the time to read and appreciate my post. I understand it is not easy to keep up with everything and there is so much great content on Leo that often I find myself missing many of the good posts.
I only wish to say Thank You and please continue to do whatever you believe is better, I trust your judgement.
(Would be great if you choose one of the cool graphics you received here below - and please add a link where you explain what it is and how one can support you i.e. follow your voting trail or something like that)
Thanks again, I wish you a lovely holiday season!
Katerina from Greece

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hope toruk will visit my content one day 😁

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

First of all, I want thank you for your amazing and never-ending support. I am obviously very grateful for the support you give me personally, but more importantly, I am thrilled and glad that you work tirelessly to support LeoFinance users to strengthen the community and to create a healthy and happy platform.

It's sad to see that you receive negative response, but you know the saying, with great power comes great responsibility. Even though I personally, and judging by the comments a lot of other users as well, think you are doing great things for the community, some people will always find a way to complain.

It could easily be complaints about them not receiving 'enough' support, or that you 'always' upvote certain authors or that you use your banner to 'promote' yourself. It can be a wide range of different things, and even if you did every single thing right, some people will find something to complain about regardless.

It's impossible to please everyone, and I would not recommend trying to do that, because that will only bring down your motivation and an unhappy onealfa will not do great things for LeoFinance- or for specific individuals using this platform.

  • Keep up the good work!

While this might not have been what you asked for, I just happened to do something for you and I think it turned out cool. Perhaps this could give some inspiration for others (or myself) trying to make you a new banner:

onealfa.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Here's another one:
torukwashere.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It feels really good to have a touch of the Alfa, thanks for all the encouragements and support, it means a lot to be seen and appreciated among all other worthy and great contributors you recognized above. Thank you and seasons greetings.

I think it is a really fun idea you have created, and helps put the value of curating into a good perspective. I want to have that kind of vote power one day too lol these types of things make me want to work on creating quality post to earn meaningful votes to increase my own power. Keep it up, I have been a member for a week and the posts you marked were easy go-to reads for me lol so thanks for that convenience as well. Happy holidays!!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I know that your intentions are the best for the community to prosper and on the banner I didn't find it irritating and unfortunately we can't please everyone, can we?

I hope that more authors and especially new users can feel a visit from you (Toruk) in your posts. You help the community to have more motivated authors and everyone benefits from it in the LEO ecosystem.

Success always @onealfa!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hi @onealfa Thank you for all the support you give and for doing it in the most organic way. I didn't find the banner unpleasant, I felt it was like a symbol of award and recognition.

I just noticed that I'm a cute cat. I'll work on growing up in LEO. 🚀

Thank you for what you do!

#toruk

Congratulations @onealfa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 110000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 115000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁵ feedback and contest results
It's today! Do not miss the opening of HiveFest⁵

Great initiative and I truly like the system behind it all. I've been hit with your blessing from time to time and I appreciate that quite a lot. I like the free of expression and I encourage for everybody to leave feedback, either good or bad as through it we can only improve. Cheers and keep up the good work and happy days!!!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Feels good to see my name in the charts!
It's gonna be awesome when I see my name there again...that'll mean that I'm doing a good job!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you for all your hard work to nurture this community.

I would be tempted to ignore naysayers were I Toruk Makto, but if you care, perhaps...

Maybe create a set of Gifs from your favorite movie and leave them in random order or your favorites only...
613167E3C93C476896BC845F27885BF8.gif

Or modify a darker graphic with your personal message, like I do here:
6864625488DF480BB3FDB5A278366919.jpeg

The dark colors create a more subtle effect.

@shortsegments

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta