New TAILS is out !

in LeoFinance3 years ago

The monthly release of TAILS, obviously the last one for 2020, has been published today, and is available for download.

TAILS is an operating system (OS), created and optimized for user's privacy and anonymity. For me this is by far the easiest way to do various cryptocurrency related things on a regular, daily use windows computer. Other wise the danger and risk for hacker attacks is simply to high and unacceptable. By simple booting from USB flash or DVD, I can eliminate those windows specific dangers in a few mouse clicks

tails414_out.jpg

Besides the numerous security fixes, in this release 4.14 we see also few significant updates, changes and additions.

From all of them, personally to me the biggest news is adding support for the Ledger hardware wallets (in Electrum).
THIS IS BIG !
I have been waiting for this feature for years ! Seems it's finally there.
(I still have not yet tried this feature myself, been to busy, hopefully will do tomorrow)

TAILS was launched in 2009, but most famous and known became after 4-5 years, when Edward Snowden published about his experience of TAILS use for secure communications with journalists, while leaking NSA secrets.

Tails OS is a Linux DEBIAN based 64 bit operating system, operates solely in a computer's RAM, does not touch your HDD and/or LAN devices (unless you deliberately want this), and is running all your network traffic through the TOR.
TAILS does not leave footprints on our PC's disks and peripherals, and greatly reduces the stress when you have to manage your private keys, mnemonic seeds or passwords.

It's Encrypted Persistent Storage is a great and secure way to save your sensitive materials with top grade encryption.

TAILS can be also very very useful, when you need to do some sensitive things in an unsafe or uncertain environment (hotels, airport, restaurants, conferences, business trips). The list of possible such circumstances is endless.

@onealfa

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Wow this is the first time I hear about this system, thanks for the clarification as you say those of us who are in this cryptographic world especially, we must protect our pennies that are earned with a lot of sacrifice, I will look for tail since before I only used ubuntu , and I had split the disk as a form of protection, but this new tool that you bring us is fantastic, I will also look if the version for android exists, I have seen that TOR does exist but I will also look for the option to see if TAIL is also there For use in Cellular since in case of cell phone the only form of protection has been through a VPN and that is quite expensive but one must take precautions.
Thank you for the new tool that you share with us in these days of so much insecurity that is presented and will continue to be presented.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I never heard of this device, but heard of the option to store your keys on a USB drive for security. An encrypted USB seems to be a logical extension of that idea, but a separate, secure operating system, booted from a USB drive is an amazing idea.
I once rebooted my computer from a portable disk drive, with a mirror image of my hard drive on it, when my hard drive failed and it was just a back-up drive convenience, but this is a logical extension of that thought too.

Thanks.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

In fact this is a software. Not a hardware device.
As a device for your TAILS can serve any 4 GB or larger USB flash. Preferably USB 3.0 theses days, and 8GB is just fine.
Once you configure it and create "Encrypted Persistent Storage" partition, you get 2-in-1, a safe operating system and a safe storage device.
The password for PERSISTENCE I recommend at least 20 character long alpha-numeric + CAPS + specialsymbols.
But if you lose it, your data is lost too. There is no back door nor recovery for it.
Just as you lose your private key in crypto - your coins are gone forever.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Of course I did not know about this software, it is valuable information even if for some, like me, it is not of great interest at this time. You never know when you might need it and be prepared. Thank you for sharing with us.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

the security aspect is something I need to improve on my computer. I have a few free programs that work idle but I need to start creating a safer environment for my data.

Thanks for the description of Tail, it seems complex to launch but I want to learn more

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This seems like a very valuable feature that I have to take a closer look at. To be honest, my security is nowhere near where it should be.

It should be my priority for 2021. Really start taking the steps to secure all aspects of my digital life.

Thanks for this, I will have to take a look at it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Do you know: once Tails is on a USB key, is it then tied to just one computer? Or can it be booted up by connecting it with a different one?

Very interesting, thanks for sharing this and I'm going to look into it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It is not bind to anything. You can boot on any PC, if it can boot from USB. Tremendous freedom.
Like a separate tiny secure computer in your pocket

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

a separate tiny secure computer in your pocket

👏👏 super stuff and what I was wondering about.

Great tip - well worth a rehive/releo :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have never heard of this software, but it looks interesting.. I guess I'm not the most "safest guy" out there, so things like this is certainly something I need to take a look at.

Thanks for sharing!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I just finished a blog about a Crypto CEO that fell victim of cybercriminals and added the tip to stop using your computer for daily business for crypto.
I advised to use a dedicated (virtual) machine for this, but this is even better.
I'll add it to my blog :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The cool thing about following the news in the LeoFinance community is the possibility to learn more interesting things. I had never heard of TAILS or maybe I saw something like that and missed it.

Any and all way to increase our security in this immense and wild world of cryptocurrencies is welcome. Nice to know that we have more software that adds that. Thanks for sharing!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

i never heard about it but security especially when you got some crypto assets is a must. I have 3-4 litecoins which is the world for me and i have them in a ledger nano usb just in case :P that's my most valuable asset and i bought a nano usb.

imagine if you have more than that how "far" should you go to be safe

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

TAILS, TOR... Cool! Sounds so Bourne Identity...

I guess most of we are all too comfortable being slaves to FAGs and maybe it's time for me to explore these things and get back control.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Wow! I will defined try this one out.
Lets see what it holds for me. I love crypto and now with the fact that it supports hardware wallets. It would be all in one place. Thanks for this post.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This idea of anonymity and privacy preserving software is great, I wish some technical genius would create a computer that is package out of the box with tails or similar software so that normies could have access to such technology, extra points if the computer gives you a crypto airdrop to incentivize its use, perhaps someone is working on that issue right now, I hope so.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have never heard about Tails before. But after watching the below video I am really curious to learn more about it and use it for all my crypto transactions (besides Hive-based actions, which work pretty well in Keychain). Whenever I have to use the private keys again, Tails will be my number one choice.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I had no idea about this (TAILS). Thanks for this post, @onealfa.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Security is always a worry and I am clueless besides having bought some security stuff. My plan is to run a laptop just for crypto and nothing else plus have a cold wallet for storage. I had a Trezor but never got round to using it before that was stolen and need to buy another one soon. I think what I need to do is actually sit down with someone who is clued up so I get some much important lessons.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Very interesting!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Are you on discord?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

New TAILS is?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

But if you lose it, your data is lost too. There is no back door nor recovery for it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @onealfa! You received a personal badge!

It's great to see you are attending HiveFest⁵ in Altspace VR.

Have fun!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

It's today! Do not miss the opening of HiveFest⁵

Wow! I will look into this. Sounds unique.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

image.png

왜 그러길래 가만히 있는 사람 건드려 역겨운 새끼야 스스로 반성하고

너의 포스팅과 내 포스팅을 객관적으로 판단해봐라 누가 그지짓을 하고 있는지

이 버러지새끼야 니가 한만큼 내가 돌려줄께

상처 받는다 생각말고 너가 누군가에게 상처준일을 먼저 생각하길 바란다!!!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

image.png

Disgusting old cub

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta