You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: And Hive Marches On

in LeoFinancelast year

If I store my Hive username and keys in a laptop and/or smartphone, then copy-paste it on HiveKeychain or HiveSigner, then technically I'm using hot wallets, right?

If I only store it physically (paper, etc.) and still type it in HiveKeychain/HiveSigner, is it still considered cold wallet?

I still don't get it, help is greatly needed.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Cold storage is not tied to the internet like a paper wallet or Bitcoin or a Nano.

As for custodial versus non, all on Hive is non-custodial. There is no custodian of the funds. Centralized exchanges are custodians if you put your Hive on, say, a Binance.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I did search online, but I got even more confused with the new information, but slowly I understand it better.

Thanks for the clarifications btw, without saying 'google it', it's very helpful and less confused now.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think I'm confusing myself with custodial vs non-custodial vs hot and cold wallets here, sry

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta