CUDTOMD AND TRADITION IN MY COMMUNITY

in LeoFinance22 days ago

Cultural norms(rules and regulations). There are several rules and regulations in my culture, yeah many of them but I'll just talk about two and I will draw more on the one that interests me most and I feel to also interest you. Yes I know so it will interest you.

Snapchat-403010163.jpg

I am from Ika North East, a local government in Delta state Nigeria, like I said earlier we do have many norms and traditions in my culture or should I say where I come from? I'll listing as much as I can remember but will be dwelling on two only. I stand to be corrected 🤗

RNFetchBlobTmp_l6g1s1ql6ao4bhrbjf8f9m.jpg

Under no circumstances should you put onion in a calabash.
A lady cannot get married while pregnant, if she does it's either she dies or the baby dies.
When a prince is born (the heir apparent to the throne) he is not allowed to see his father until the death of his father the king.
Anybody said or confirmed to have died of witchcraft must be buried in the bush faraway.
When sharing food with your bare hands among the elders of the land it is forbidden to lick your hand. e. t.c
Now I'll dwell on tradition 2(two) and 3(three).

Snapchat-903767892.jpg

A lady cannot be married out when she is pregnant in my culture because it is termed an abomination, marriage is between two individuals and not three individuals , which is when the lady gets wedded when pregnant it is a ceremony between the Father mother and the child in this case I don know who is marrying who.Therefore it is either u get married before getting pregnant or u put to bed before getting married 😊🤷. Although I hear it is allowed in other cultures

RNFetchBlobTmp_l6g1s1ql6ao4bhrbjf8f9m.jpg

When a prince is born (the heir apparent to the throne) he is not allowed to see his father until the death of his father the king, this is because there are certain rituals he has to under go yes many purifications to fortify him and get him set to rule immediately after his father's demise. Wow so no love from his father 😭 he has to be a strong man for his kingdom, and funny enough this has been passed down from generations to generations as it should be, I think he is allowed to see his mother and not his father.

Snapchat-1689513994.jpg

Permit me to write on this one 🙏 When sharing food with your bare hands among the elders of the land it is forbidden to lick your hand. It is said to be an act of disrespect and can cause instant death, death on the spot for any defaulter, ok such a wonderful tradition. Why would you even lick your hand while giving food to others with the same hand who does that?

RNFetchBlobTmp_l6g1s1ql6ao4bhrbjf8f9m.jpg

Traditions 😊 In all of these I just feel our cultural norms and traditions help us to keep things in order and check. Although we might claim some are barbaric, I still feel they help to put us in check.

ALL PICTURES ARE MINE

Posted Using InLeo Alpha