You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Everyone needs to know JavaScript

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I'm a truck driver so I'm sure I'll be fine. Not automation coming for my job!

But seriously, I've asked computer folks this before: Where should I start?

It sounds like you think Java would be a good language to learn. There are so many coding languages and I haven't the faintest idea which ones are useful and which are not. Also, ease of learning is important. At my age, it's safe to assume that I've only got the motivation to learn one, maybe two coding languages. If you know only one, which one?

Also, what if a guy is starting from complete zero? (which I basically am). I've been told it would be good to take a class in basic philosophical logic before diving into coding languages. What say you?

Sort:  

It sounds like you think Java would be a good language to learn.

Java and JavaScript are totally 100% different just so I'm being clear.

JavaScript is the language I think everyone needs to learn simply because of its native connection to HTML.

Again, I think if learning is a game and you're getting paid to do it, this makes it much easier to accomplish.

I've been told it would be good to take a class in basic philosophical logic before diving into coding languages.
What say you?

Okay so that's good advice to avoid a myriad of headaches along the way... but it's also SUPER BORING.
It's more fun to just get out there and see what happens.
Then if you run into a brick wall you might need to learn how shit actually works in the background.

For example:

You would never realize that while iterating through a list of assets, if you delete from the list and your index counter goes up, you'll end up skipping over the next asset. So imagine you're checking the third object in a list and you want to delete it, so you do. Now when your code goes to check the fourth object in the list... it actually checks the fifth object because you deleted one and all the indexes changed (subtracted by one).

If you never had any booksmarts about how this works you wouldn't know why there was a bug in the code. However, modern programming languages fix a lot of the bullshit that used to happen back in the day when everyone was using C, Fortran, Basic, and whatever else. The new languages are smarter so you don't have to know as much. For example, all new languages have "garbage collection" that will deallocate memory for you so you won't have any memory leaks. C is faster than everything, but you also have to do everything by hand.

Again, it's more fun to just start tinkering before learning about what happens in the background.

Nice! Thank you for the advice. I might just get one of the coding games they sell for kids and start playing.

But to illustrate where I'm at at this point, all I know about java is that in the bad old days when I had a windows machine, it seemed like every time I turned the damn thing on I'd have to wait thirty minutes before I could use it because "java needs to update." I have PTSD whenever I read the word "java" now.

Haha yeah I hear you, but again the Java you are referring to has nothing to do with JavaScript.

What about Oracle forms? Is it possible that they will ever disappear?

IMHO, you should start with "What do I want to build?"

Knowing what you want to do with a language provides the motivation to research which ones can do it, and to learn that language.

Some languages like C are super general and can do anything you want, but are harder to learn. Some, like Python, are easier to learn and can do many things, some things more easily than others. And some, like Javascript, are focused on certain kinds of tasks, which in the case of Javascript is mainly apps displayed in a web browser.

Also, having something you want to build in mind helps the learning stick, otherwise you'll just be going through a bunch of tutorials and forgetting what you did because it has no real meaning to you.

I'd skip the logic class. Might be interesting but not necessary at all to start coding.

If there's nothing in particular you want to build, you might want to just play with something like Sonic Pi. Code music while learning general concepts like variables and loops that are used in pretty much all programming languages.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you sir! That sounds like great advice.