Sort:  

Greed is a powerful emotion...If only generosity was as strong in people's makeup huh?

Ii is only special people that has the generosity instinct in their make-up my friend.
Most people concentrate only on the self and I have buried a few that gathered small fortunes in their lifetimes only to see it all wasted in a few years by their beneficiaries.

Ah yes, that's a common story isn't it; Someone works hard for their whole life building something, only to hand it on to someone who squanders it. Pretty sad really I guess. I suppose the good thing is that they're not there to see it I suppose.

Yes, you are right and it has a deeper meaning to me that one must be careful about what you spend your time on in life. Satisfy the greed with many sacrifices, a greed that can never be satisfied, or rather spend time in the better free things of life such as love and laughter.

Yes, I am trying to build something here in Hive, but it's not for myself, as it is for Papillon's future when I am gone and that future will be placed in very responsible hands so that the work can continue.

Satisfy the greed with many sacrifices, a greed that can never be satisfied, or rather spend time in the better free things of life such as love and laughter.

This says it all really...Kind of puts it into perspective. There's nothing wrong with building something, I guess one needs to find some balance is all...I often think about legacy-leaving but it's not something I put any real effort into. I'd rather invest time in a better life now, being a better person and enjoying what time I have here. That's not to say your efforts are not a valuable thing, much the opposite as you're making a difference now, to your own life and others. Eventually all things will end, I feel it's best to make sure we're doing the right things day by day, the rest will take care of itself right?

You are right and I also think that the legacy thing sucks, as all we have is the now!
For instance, any normal person would cling to the 17 years of effort that they have put in with shocking sacrifices during the period.

We dumped it all and moved down here. Actually not really dumped as the new owners continue with the work, much better than us, as they have increased manpower and finances.

We also diddn't really dump it, as a lady that lived down here had Leukemia and she pleaded over 3 years for us to come down here. She wanted to establish a step-down clinic for cancer sufferers from hospital to the clinic and she wanted me to manage it.
But she died and her dream died with her, as her sons sold the farm.

That left us out in the cold and we simply started up new Papillon projects down here.
I have designed Papillon so, that anll of the projects are accredited and it can be updated continously to suit any new changes.

Finally, I am not interested in leaving any legacy as my only interest is for Papillon to continue and whoever will take it into the future after me are welcome to claim it as their own.