Selling NFTs isn't as easy as you would think

in LeoFinance2 years ago

Lost in the Open Sea

By now there are millions of people that are creating NFTs or flipping NFTs in hope of being the next crypto millionaire, by discovering of creating an NFT that brings in as much as for instance the Bored Ape Yacht Club, or the Creepz, or Niftywillies, or you name it. But in reality, it really is not that simple. Believe me, I tried it. I did not try to buy and resell, as I found that a bit too dangerous, instead of that I created NFTs of my photography, and created some digital art. I posted the link to my OpenSea account on different Facebook groups, on Hive, on Telegram, you name it. But, I literally got lost in the Open Sea. The offer side is so huge, my NFTs are just a few drops in the ocean. I got a few likes on my pictures and art, and that is it. Nothing less, nothing more. Not that I am pissed about that, it was just something I wanted to try, and now I know, it is pretty damn hard to get noticed in the ocean.

GoldApePunkwebsite.jpg.webp
This NFT, together with 2 mutant apes, sold for 800 Eth, approximately 2.5 million USD

NFT Showroom

The same happened on the NFT market of the Hive blockchain, NFT Showroom, I only minted two pieces of digital art there, but I didn't even get a like there. :-)
And the saddest part about that is, on Hive it costs you to get your stuff minted. It cost me around 10 Swap Hive to mint 10 pieces of both of my pieces. At least on OpenSea it is free, if you use the Polygon chain.

So, before you think you will become a millionaire by creating an alien, ape, creep or a frog to mint it. Maybe it is better to invest your time in something else, like blogging on Hive, staking tokens, or just have a beer...

Sincerely,

Pele23

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

The truth is that selling NFT is quite difficult. It's like trying to sell any product to a person. It is a very large market and the ones who sell are the ones who have the most marketing behind them. It would be interesting to study the ways of how to sell NFTs being a key to receive benefits of some kind or something like that.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

well, u tried.. funny, my friend just asked me if i knew NFTs.. he was all hyped about making millions and how his other friend was gonna make some..

I asked him if he ever saw a NFT.. NOPE. :P i doubt he will ever even learn about it other than what i told him.

2.5 million USD??

I have no word to describe this meaninglessness

It’s nuts indeed, but it’s real, and they are sold by the thousands every hour

Hive has a fairly small ecosystem and I don't think the minting process is that good either. Like you said, there are far more alternatives and NFTs themselves won't sell unless you market them well.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I can't imagine why I would even want them.

I think I'm the one that is not being carried away by the NFT craze....

I mustn't be involved in everything to veg wealthy.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

@cryptocharmers @methodmad2 following up on our discussion today about NFTs. Here's one person's results. @pele23 Thanks for sharing. We thought our group HiveFive might dapple in NFTs.