LEO&HODL Contest: Re-Design LeoFinance UI (My Opinion as a Lion)

in LeoFinancelast year

There have been numerous things going on since the introduction of the Leofinance UI; honestly, plenty of bugs were noticed when it was released, especially when it comes to activities on threads. For me, I might be a bit late dropping my opinion because some of what I actually want to talk about has been fixed recently, but taking part in the #hodlcontest matters most.

At first, it was obvious that the Leofinance UI was designed for microblogging on Leofinance, and honestly, numerous glitches were encountered during this process. Even with threads, I find it really difficult to access, especially when it comes to long content. There were countless difficulties faced, but recently, plenty of issues complained about the new UI as being fixed, but regardless of that, I still believe that there are few that still need to be done to make the new UI a success.

Recently, I shared my opinion on what an “everything things app” should look like. For a moment, I compared the #OldUi with this #newui, and it was a bit hard for me to see what has indeed made this new one more special. I couldn't really bring out many facts, apart from the fact that login is being reviewed and will be easier than before. This might actually sound controversial, but for me, I think what we should have is a new interface that will be faster regardless of how it looks.

What do you think about the efficacy of options on the LeoFinance UI in this version?

There is no doubt about it; the level of options on that new interface is definitely spectacular. There might be two or three limitations when it comes to what will be available right now, but of all, activities are still pretty well going. For me, I see that the new UI's main focus is on improving threads , which is absolutely fine, but at the same time, long content too should be given much attention. The community might be doing all this just to make sure that users who don't have much interest in long form also get to be useful in the community, which for me is a perfect thing.

Why do you think we should change it or keep it in its current form?

I honestly don't see why things should be changed for now. For me, I will say that @khal and his team have indeed done well, but on the contrary, I will have suggested that we have all the features in the previous UI back in this one and still have this design that we have too. There is much fun, and the level at which features are accessible here really makes more sense for me, regardless of the level of glitches or bugs that we still have. Keeping this new interface just as it is for now, with more reviews to be done on what's needed or that is missing and being added, will be of more importance.

How can we redesign the current form to increase usability?

One of the most important things here is listening to user reviews. As of a few days ago, I honestly had a lot to say, but @khal has indeed done some that I couldn't really touch again. Regardless, I still very much believe that taking our reviews and feedback into consideration is significant. If the NewUi is to become a success, end users should be given more say to definitely share their opinions about it. I always wonder if @khal could give users the ability to speak and have some say during any #ama section as to what we feel and how things can be improved. All these things will absolutely help improve things . For me, we are still not at what everything app is called, but we are certainly getting closer.

What options should be added and replaced?

There have been plenty of interesting options added recently, and just like I said earlier, having all the options from the old one back here will absolutely be better because all the options in the old one are definitely better and good.

Rethread

Recently, I got to see that threads are undoubtedly going to have a rethread feature. Honestly, I don't see any reasons for it. If we are to achieve boast engagement, rethreading should not be in place. Then my question is, will rethreading also later count as engagement, which I don't expect to be at all?

Long-form reblog

I still don't know why we aren't having long-form re-blog features back right now, and we are seeing rethreading on threads. For me, the re-blog feature on long content is more vital; at least it's an ability to share a lot of information for users to see and get, so for me, I honestly think that this feature is more important right now and should be added back to the NewUi for proper spreading of quality information in the community.

Downvote on long form

At a point, I was amazed that threads are getting more control than long form, which comes with bigger earnings, so for me, if threads should have a downvoting feature, what happened to long form content? Honestly, for me, I don't see much reason why spamming on threads should take more concern than that of long form, in which there is more reward right now. The downvote feature on long form content, for me, should be restored, as it is significant there rather than on threads.

But for now, I will say the team is indeed doing pretty well too, and looking at all the feedback is indeed an excellent thing. Removing all bugs is also significant, and that is definitely one of the best ways to help and to allow users to have it easier while engaging in the community.

Here is my entry to the Leo&Hodlcontest for that week, by inviting @kolawole93, @lordemmy, and @houseofdavid to join the #leocontest for the week.

Posted Using LeoFinance Alpha

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/peniel2010/re-leothreads-2oaugg2wb
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( peniel2010 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Congratulations @peniel2010! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 3000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 3250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2023

This is a great contribution of how #NewUI should be re-design to suit the best of Web3 Blockchain. A lot of opinions have been shared by many people of which I think the developers would be reconsider how possible these changes would be made in some of the bugs happening