Crafting my study style for success

in LeoFinance24 days ago

As humans, we all have what works for us and that applies to personal life as well.

Learning to people has different meanings because we all have different ways of learning when I was in junior class, I found it difficult to sit and read and whenever a teacher taught us something in the class I didn't grab it quickly like every other student in the class.

My chemistry teacher noticed that and she called me to give me some methods of learning, she told me I could read at night when there was no distraction or noise that could divert my attention.

I was just a kid so I find it difficult to cope with because I love sleeping so much.

But when exams were fast approaching I would start reading at night, meanwhile whenever I was ready for exams whatever I read was just for exams and immediately after the exams I don't remember what I read again. As we all know after exams we would vacate school.


The image is mine

We were not aware of the new rules of the school because the headmistress of the school noticed that some students didn't just read to understand what they were taught they only read just to pass the exams and after the exam, they don't remember anything again.

So she set the rules that we must be doing a welcome test, I wasn't prepared as usual so I got to school and we were all asked to tear a sheet of paper and start answering the questions on the board.

I failed the test and that was when I knew that reading for the exam alone is not a good method of learning to settle with, so I started reading at midnight just like one of my teachers advised, at first it wasn't funny because before I finished reading one paragraph I would have slept off.

But then, I discovered that the next day I can still remember whatever I read in the night, so I put more effort into reading at night.

As time went on I started falling in love with reading ahead of the class simply because I was a slow learner.

When I became an adult I still loved reading at night because I was used to the method simply because whenever I am reading I don't like anything that can distract me.

When I got admission into the university, I met some people who love reading at night like me, but the first day I tried reading with them I couldn't concentrate just because some of them liked reading out.

While some were talking which was causing distractions to me, I stopped reading with them. And I started reading alone and whenever I read alone I always grabbed what I studied.

As humans, we must know what works for us when it comes to reading if not at the end of learning the person might not know what they have learned so far.

My junior sister doesn't like to read in a quiet place, she always complains about sleeping off but whenever she read among people she would grab what she was learning.

That is what works for her which doesn't work for me.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha