You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How does curation work on Hive, what are the rules, posting and voting limits?

in LeoFinance4 years ago

If voting at 0 min = 100% penalty, 100% of the curation stays in the pool

I used to thought that it help the author and it goes to author.

Still, I do not understand why my vote value is different for different post at same time?

Currently "peakd" shows me I have vote value of ".010" . But if go on for voting a post that has payout less than .20, my vote changes to ".006", for less than 50 cents payout it changes to ".007". for 1$ post payout my vote value is ".009" . If post payout is valued above 3, then I see I am able to cast my full ".01" vote.

Any idea?

Sort:  

I used to thought that it help the author and it goes to author.

It used to, but it was changed in the EIP hardfork so to limit selfvote abuse a bit. People would vote at 0 on themselves and shut others out of curation, while still maximizing their own vote.

Replied to early..

Currently "peakd" shows me I have vote value of ".010" . But if go on for voting a post that has payout less than .20, my vote changes to ".006", for less than 50 cents payout it changes to ".007". for 1$ post payout my vote value is ".009" . If post payout is valued above 3, then I see I am able to cast my full ".01" vote.

Yep, this is because there is a slight curve on the voting too (but it is complicated and didn't want to put it in a basics post) that means that there is more advantage in supporting content that will get over a threshold of around 4 dollars. This is why a lot of people don't vote comments now, because the value isn't as high as it won't likely get other votes on it. I still vote comments because I would rather help spread than maximize my curation. :D

I have to run, but if you search "convergent curve" you should find something technical on it.