Hive At $2: When Investing, The Rear Mirror Is Always Clearer Than The Windshield

in LeoFinance2 years ago

This quote can mean a lot of things to different people depending on how they see it. Well I see it to mean two different things, one is that when you look at the past performance of a particular asset or investment, you can see how clear it is. The past performance is seen as the rear view, but the future performance is so unclear because no one knows what the future will be.

1E3F394F-DED0-4622-AC48-EE0FBC153409.jpeg

Through the rear view of a car you can see anything coming behind you, but through the windshield, it’s hard to see any incoming threats in business. Rear views are always clearer because to be in the rear view we must have passed that position before. Just like driving a car and having life experiences,you can tell if a pothole is behind you and the position it is because you have experienced or passed the pot hole before. But while driving forward you have no idea what is coming, you have no idea what you should be expecting, therefore making the future less clearer and uncertain for you. But in life we have to move forward, so you move forward.

Some people give up because of the fear of unknown, lots of doubts and “what if”. This is one of the reasons lots of people don’t take risk, because the windshield is less clearer than the rear view.

I stumbled upon these words today and it caught my attention, I couldn’t help but acknowledge how true it is. Turns out these words are one of the words from Warren Buffet. This reminds me of the time I invited a friend to join Hive in May. He loved the concept of Hive but didn’t understand why the price was $0.17 if it was so great. I tried explaining to him that he should forget about the current Hive’s price and focus on the future price. He was so scared that he doubted Hive’s price, he said what if Hive slips below $0.1, this is because he was looking at the rear mirror instead of focusing on the windshield. He was scared of the unknown and unforeseen investment threats that may occur in the future. But look at Hive, giving us a $2 close view.

I didn’t have money to buy Hive then, I could only create content so I decided that I was going to keep creating contents, any money I make from Hive I will invest it outside Hive, then when it moons I will bring it back to Hive and invest, but fortunately for Hive, it didn’t wait for me, Hive mooned like 🚀. This is the reason we find some people buy lots of top and sell at the bottom, they look at charts over utility. They prefer to FOMO instead of focusing on buying based on the utility, use case and fundamentals of the project.

People look at the chart and see that the past price has been stagnant or moved slowly, haven’t had a major spike, then use that to judge the coin without researching the coin’s future.

8EA13065-3B4E-4E7E-8C61-FBBF44723227.jpeg

I’m glad I didn’t do that with SAND, because when I wanted to buy sand, the highlighted part was the zone where SAND was, knowing what the utility, use case and future of SAND is, I felt it was a great idea to buy SAND. So I didn’t focus or let the rear view judge my investment decisions fully, it only guided me to know how much profit I was going to make. I didn’t feel because it has been consolidating in the past, that means that it will consolidate for ever. In light of talking about “Rear view being clearer than windshield “, after the SAND spike from $0.7 to $8, am seeing the rear view clearer now, I find myself regretting I didn’t invest more on SAND when it was still $0.7. But when it was $0.7 I didn’t know it was going to $8 soon.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Rear view mirror versus windshield, interesting concept that is intertwined.

The rear view that helps guiding into to the future and the windshield seeing all in its entirety.

Thanks for sharing, its a whole lot worth considering


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.