You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I became debt free in December, 2020

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Congratulations.

I have a mortgage still, but the house is worth a lot more and rented, so that pays for itself.

I also took out another loan for $12K recently, at only 3% interest it seemed silly not to - to buy some land, it's relatively easy to pay back over a 5 year term.

Also I'll be paying back less as fiat just devalues and devalues!

The other option was selling my investments which I think will grow faster than that interest rate.

So it's not really 'debt' if you factor in I could just pay it off immediately if necessary.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

That's great to know. Getting a loan at 3% interest is awesome, and I think your strategy is great. If I would have got a loan in that less interest I would have bought some land myself.

It was kind of odd, I looked at my pre-existing offers with three different banks I'm with - my rates were 16%, 9% and 3%.

They're all UK banks, no idea why the rates varied so much. It's frankly a bit bizarre.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta