SPS - to stake or not to stake...?

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

You know me, I do like to stake a token, so I just bought back all the SPS I've been selling over the last few days (for a nice little profit, cheers!) and staked 3000:

I wanted an early in to kickstart my 'stake for Chaos Legion campaign' - I don't want to miss out on that so I wanted to lock some tokens up straight away...

Screenshot 2021-08-02 at 12.34.45.png

HOWEVER, I don't think going in hard to staking now is necessarily the best option for accumulating SPS, this is really just a gesture-nod to the Splinterlands system on my part.....

What will staking rewards look like?

According to today's announcement post there will be 7 500 000 SPS tokens dropped every month on those staking SPS in-game.

So if you can control 1% of the pool, you're sitting pretty....

The example given in the SPS staking announcement post makes this look like a tempting offer...

As a quick example, if there are a total of 10M SPS tokens staked, and you have personally staked 100k SPS tokens in your account, then you will receive 1% (100k / 10M) of the SPS staking rewards pool, which comes to about 0.856 SPS per Hive block (every 3 seconds roughly), or 75k SPS for the first month.

Irrespective of how much ends up getting staked, IF you can control 1% of the pool you will receive 75 000 tokens every month, or around 2500 a day.

The problem with the above example is that for regular users who don't already command $100K in Splinterlands assets and don't have another $50K to spend on SPS, short of someone accidentally sending you that 100K SPS, your chances of controlling anywhere near 1% of the pool are zero.

There are a few people that can command that sort of return ATM such as @nealmcspadden, AND if they choose to stake the reality is that within a couple of months they'll be staking nearer 1 million out of 100 million - staking will probably end up being out of hundreds of millions in the near term as there are a billion tokens set for release in the first year, so I imagine overall staking will be in the 100s of millions rather than 10s of millions.

My realistic best-estimate at REAL staking returns once things have settled down....

I'm getting 550 SPS a day on Splinterlands assets worth around $80-$100K all-in at current market prices, and there are about another 100-200 users at my level and then a couple of dozen MASSIVE accounts way above me, and then a bunch of smaller accounts with insufficient assets to significantly influence distribution (not saying I'm not insignificant with a measly $100K in, I am.)

Screenshot 20210802 at 12.37.30.png

These figures give me a chance of commanding 0.1% of the SPS pool, probably no more than that, unless I want to spend literally $10s of thousands of dollars on Splinterlands assets.

Anyway, my target after 6 months is to have 100K SPS staked to the pool, which is realistic, and I think this is how things are going to look after a few months of staking to the SPS pool.

  • My Personal stake (my target) will = 100K
  • Out of a total of at least 100 Million staked
  • That's 0.1% the pool (which sounds about right for a player of my level, I know my place).
  • This will command me 200 SPS a day.
  • = 75 000 a year or a 75% return on a 100K Stake **.

Of course things might look worse than this for me. I could have less than 0.1%, quite easily nearer 0.05%. However, the fact that the SPS returns on DEC are better than this should put people off staking to an extent.

NB that 75% figure is similar to the current Pancake pool.

NB Selling SPS for DEC (and pooling) may yield me more SPS

  • I've got 3.1 Million SPS airdrop points, and get a drop of 550 SPS a day, so every point gives me 0.00017 DEC.
  • 1000 DEC - gives me 0.17 SPS a day
  • That = around 60 SPS a year
  • So for a $5, 1000 DEC VEST I get $20 of SPS
  • That's a 400% return compared to a guestimated 75% settled return on SPS.

HOWEVER, this option wouldn't give me playing bonuses, and then there's the fact that IF these returns remained the case, the relative prices of DEC and SPS would level out the returns, the market would just naturally sort it.

The SPS-DEC pool may be an even better option...

I'm considering pooling SPS with DEC on TribalDex given that I've no idea what's going to happen to the price of either - but doubling up on SPS returns strikes me as a decent option.

I'm uncertain about how the relative prices of in-game assets are going to change and the idea of hedging one against another, that's appealing.

Final thoughts...

There are further advantages to staking SPS : for voting rights, and as I understand it the return on staking SPS will increase once player SPS rewards start AND there's the added bonus of being able to got in HARD early on, the returns will probably be great for the first few days.

And I imagine there's all sorts of nefarious stake-benefits planned to keep the price of SPS up - I think its a reasonable assumption that the team will take steps to ensure value flows TOWARDS SPS rather than away from it.

So while I think the best route to MOAR SPS FOR NOW may be to NOT stake too much of it, I think the days of this strategy are numbered.... I think in the not too distant future the price of SPS will start trending upwards, $0.30 sounds low to me, and so selling on the way up may not be the most lucrative option.

At the end of the day, whether one makes $10K or $30K out of SPS this year, it's all free money, and it gives me something to write about!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

There certainly are plenty of options and a reasonable amount of math involved!

I think i'll have bits and bobs all over place and see what unfolds.

My approach to all the options tends to end up overthinking, deciding I don't know what's gonna happen and then hedging a bit into everything.

I'm gonna make sure I keep cashing something out to stables every day, just so some of this becomes real.

Very insightful. Gives me something to think about.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Just be careful not to overthink it!

It's a funny thing about crypto - it's not enough to just enjoy the free money, one wants to be smart and move it around in the right way to maximise one's Vest.

Technically speaking even if someone sold all their stake for something else which plummeted in value while SPS rose, that'd still be a win in absolute financial terms.

But obviously we'd both regard that as a pure disaster!

Damn cool this -

At the end of the day, whether one makes $10K or $30K out of SPS this year, it's all free money, and it gives me something to write about!

I feel very stupid coz I was wondering what these tokens are - then I put it together - Splinterlands and Decentraland.

I am intrigued your taking economics of hodling gaming coins that you earned for free...

I don't know how to feel. I have completely missed out on this gaming token buzz, but its ok I don't play video games and spend time reading about main cryptos and DEFI and just started dabbling with DEFI...

But you can earn so much money by playing is quite difficult for me to swallow.

I am sure I will lose in all those games, because you all have talent playing these games , although the talent of those who designed is very great!!

And staking those tokens...I feel the token returns look insane... and I kind of feel how the price will be up with so much token distribution, I heard its necessary to encourage staking with all these kind of incentives but still!!

Anyway...very interesting, and kind of surprised about game playing giving tokens and as a hodler your analysis its economics... ofcourse fundamentals are important but still, economics of these cryptos earned by playing games...crazy!!

I really wish I can play can check out but it will be too much for me, to open wallet and all that, already trying to catch up with DEFI, besides although I liked playing video games earlier now I don't so its not alluring to me...

My eyes are already tried reading and analysing serious crypto stuff...I guess I sound like an old person to you young fellows earning cryptos by playing games...

Anyway. I don't think this will last for ever, you have to be early to be rich, rest it will balance out later, when its market cap matures, lot of people are in it.

Good Luck!!

I'm not a gamer, I was a very cautious and sceptical investor into the game, but it's paid off beyond my wildest expectations!

Renting cards might be something to try if you want to start playing.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I don't know any thing, should check all this stuff...Splinderlands and decentraland!!

Nice😲you're the boss!
Money talks.
I get only 1 sps/day🤣🤣
I have hope sps up💲⤴

Well it's better to be in, even in a small way!

1% of the pool is always goal and you would be sitting pretty. Even at $0.30 you'd be looking at over $20,000 A MONTH! lol It still blows my mind how much money can be made gaming. Won't lie it's a huge motivator.

I was surprised to receive any SPS after selling all my cards. They’re only a little bit. I’m staking that plus whatever else gets airdropped. I haven’t decided what to do at the end of the airdrop.

It's amazing what ghosts of assets you find lurking around, worth staking probably!

Nice😲you're the boss!
Money talks.
I get only 1 sps/day🤣🤣
I have hope sps up💲⤴

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I'm literally just getting started with this and have a very minute amount of sps but it seems I might earn a little from posting. Can you send the sps you earn from blogging over to the game to stake or should I just power them up just like in hive. I'd like to benefit from the early days of the token even though I have a tiny amount. I really missed the boat over the last 2 years on the cards.

Whooo! So many numbers, this is good stuff, nice to see. I’m just staking away and hoping for the best. Taking out some for stables is a good plan. Goodluck with all of that.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

oh goddd, this is awesome

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I don´t have nearly enough to consider anything else. Staking it will be, and hoping the returns will stay high for a while

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

as I understand it the return on staking SPS will increase once player SPS rewards start

Do you know if there is a timeline for this?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm not sure of the timeline, but I think you're right - and there'll be the option to stake to other players too!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

how do you get SPT tokens? I bought at hive-engine but its not working...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Have you got them in your wallet?

If so you need to stake them to use them for upvotes on the Splintertalk platform.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I had in my wallet, but not staked, today I saw the post so I staked them using leo finance. I'll see tomorrow. TY

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta