Beware the 888 888 KICK air dump scam! (AND SIMILAR scams)

in LeoFinance2 years ago

When I last connected a certain ETH address to ThorSwap (which I don't do very often), I noticed I had received 888 888 KICK tokens dropped (or rather 'dumped' as it turns out) to that address.

Screenshot 2021-11-10 at 08.25.43.png

I wouldn't have noticed these tokens had they not shown up in the THORSWAP interface as I rarely use the ETH network these days and they wouldn't have shown up just in MetaMask.

Anyway, with my scam alert senses tingling (following the horrible news of @belemo's funds getting stolen yesterday), I decided to investigate by checking out the KICK token price on CoinMarketCap.....

Screenshot 2021-11-10 at 08.29.39.png

So 888 888 tokens are worth almost $8000 - O.K..... sounding too good to be true, but still worth taking further, let's have a look at the website...

Screenshot 2021-11-10 at 08.32.31.png

OK it's an exchange, I don't want to register, but at least there's a functioning product, but I don't need another exchange, and NB I've NEVER HEARD of anyone using this before!

Onto UniSwap and let's see what I can get for these....

Screenshot 2021-11-10 at 08.30.43.png

$350....?

OK DEFO something not right here....down from $8000 to $350...... DEFO a warning sign to not click that button.

Thankfully given that the swap fees would have been probably above $100 the thought of swapping wasn't even tempting!

Yup this is/ was an 'air dump' scam.....

After a bit of digging I found this reddit thread outlining how this scam works....

  • You agree the contract to trade the tokens on Uniswap (or other exchanges presumably)
  • The exchange fails (and you lose the GAS fee)
  • You get informed that the 888 888 KICK tokens are locked until you've traded a certain amount through the KICK EXCHANGE
  • HOWEVER, there's apparently no reference to the amount you need to trade in order to unlock your 888 888 KICK tokens.

IN SHORT this is just a scam to 'lock you into' trading via their website, avoid it and clicking on anything that gives this site permission to interact with this wallet address!

Also keep an eye out for similar scams - 'the air dump scam' as it was referred to on Reddit seems like a fitting enough name for it!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

People put so much effort into doing horrible shit like this. A whole we site, exchange and everything just to scam people. Man that's horrible.

It's one of the real downsides of crypto, I just had to disable DMs in Discord, too many scam attempts.

Sorry about your stolen funds, that was grim.

Oh, tons of them! Many target people from the Splinterlands server I noticed...

There is a lot of incentive to create this and generally, all of these play on the greed of people wanting value for nothing.

I also have many of those scam coins. Specially on Binance and Tron, because it is cheap to deploy tokens there. The more active your wallet address is the more likely they will try to bait you.

My god, LOADS of them. These accounts must mount up $100s if not $1000s in BNB fees though if they're just spamming them out there.

At least one of them was actually marked with a fishing warning.

I need to check in with Binance, I must have loads.

Hmmmm... are they still doing that? It has been going on for years!

It's been around a while! This particular one/

I have like 20 free tokens on BSC. It's a very rampant scam. Never try to claim them, unless it's for airdrops you´re sure of!

I'm not sure I've even seen it on BSC, I've probably got loads but they're just not showing up!

Thank you to inform about this scam.

Thank you for informing us
This tricky scam is new for me

Thanks for the warning! Although I am one of the lucky ones... I have nothing on Ethereum.

They do BSC too

I'm sure they do. Wherever money go, scammers follow.

Yeah, sometimes you shouldn't get excited when something is airdropped to your wallet. You need to do DYOR above all!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I wish I could just make them disappear, at least they don't appear in MM automatically, that's something I guess!

I heard of Eth airdrop scams, thanks for outlining how they work. Is there any danger from simply possessing the coins?

!PIZZA

Not as far as I know, just ignore them!

Sounds like a plan! And here I've been keeping my puny eth wallet's address a secret for nothing? 😂

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(2/20) tipped @revisesociology (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.