How much of a DEC sink will land be...??

So when land 2.0 goes live sometime in 2023, we'll be needing 10 000 DEC per MAX level card for staking purposes.

If all plots are staked with the five max level cards that's 10K (DEC) * 150K (plots) * 5 (cards per plot) = 7.5 M DEC potentially sucked out of circulation.

Screenshot 2023-06-04 at 20.14.04.png

And that's with a current total circulating supply of around 4.5BN once the current DEC burn is done.

So IF the max staking potential were to be realised, there's not enough DEC in circulation ATM to cover this, and no more DEC is being minted so this should bode well, eventually for the SPS price as SPS can be converted to DEC, which is worth doing when DEC is at its $1/ 1000 peg, and at just over $0.80 ATM it's not far off that.

HOWEVER....

I don't think there's enough cards in circulation to stake max cards to every plot. i did a rough back of the fag packet calculation on the CHAOS LEGION cards and got the following potential numbers of max cards in the order common, epic, rare, legendary...

First column = number BCX printed (courtesy of Splintercards) * number of monster cards and / BCX to max....

  • Common - 1 100 000 * 29/ 400 = 79 000

  • Epic - 415 000 *23/ 115 = 80 000

  • Rare - 17*113 000 / 46 = 41 000

  • Legendary - 22*34000/ 11 = 68 000

= 268 000 max chaos cards total

And there's 150K plots times 5 = 750 000 plots.

So if every single CHAOS card is going to be staked at max, then that fills around 40% of the plots.

Now I haven't done the calculations for the other editions, but I know all of them are a lot rarer, so I think we might just about have enough maxed cards to fill out every single plot at max level.

And given some cards are gonna remain being played that almost certainly means we're not going to get 750K cards staked at max level on land, so we are not gonna get demand for 7.5M DEC to be staked.

My own personal situation looks something like this....

Potentially with one tract =

500*10000 = 5M DEC I could stake

But once I've factored in the cards I'll probably keep rented, like my legendary summoners for example, I only have the following cards....

  • 70 maxed = 700K DEC
  • 120 halved (so L3 for legendary for example)= 600K DEC
  • 200 at 0.25 = 500K DEC
  • 100s bits and pieces = 200K DEC

= Around 2M DEC I'll need for staking purposes.

So I personally as a tract owner only have the potential to max 40% of my land, at least initially.

And I don't imagine I'm untypical. I know at least one region holder that has 'nowhere near' enough cards to max stake his 1000 plots.

There is also the fact that I'm personally only motivated to max stake my GOOD land plots, and by good I mean read everything that isn't just common, which is around 25% of them.

Hence why I'm not rushing to buy more max cards.

Conclusions....

Possibly by the time land staking goes live DEC will reach its $1 PEG and we'll start to see some SPS converting going on, but given the intense SPS inflation, and add to that VOUCHER inflation, I think this will be more a case of stopping SPS slide further rather than pumping the price.

However if we see another card set release in 2024 (PLEASE NOT SOONER THAN THIS!) and this coincides with an uptick in crypto more generally, there is potential for A LOT of DEC to be sucked off the market and this could turn into a nice sink for SPS.

But I'm not expecting miracles to happen to SL asset prices once land staking goes live!

Sort:  

My math showed something similar. Aggy says land maxed land would eat up 75% of the cards in the game so I'm assuming I'm missing something.

But as far as DEC goes, I've been thinking about 2.5 to 3 billion DEC would be eaten up between land staking and the initial liquidity pools (Which I guess is just grain).

I'm looking forward to some of the cards coming off the rental market. So many people bought, combined, and put them up for on the rental market until land comes out that the rental market is trash on both the top and bottom now. But I don't even expect rental prices to rise. I think there will just be a better chance the cheap cards that stay will get rented.

There are a few maxed cards that will have value but most will be garbage for a while.

It's not gonna hurt but I'm not expecting a mega pump either - we need another bull run to attract more mugs to buy-in!

If you have faith in this game then hold your assets. These are the times when either you get rich or you buy at the top. Been there at the last peak so I know what I am talking about. Don't sell those bags, you will be sorry later.

Oh I'm mostly holding, I've got a fair stack in the game!

It all depends if people give a rats arse anymore. A lot of the excitement has vanished, and believe me.., that's not what I want.., it just is.

We need another bull to get more mugs to buy-in!

This post has been supported by @Splinterboost with a 12% upvote! Delagate HP to Splinterboost to Earn Daily HIVE rewards for supporting the @Splinterlands community!

Delegate HP | Join Discord

Thanks for sharing , miracle can happen oo

Thanks for sharing , miracle can happen oo

that is a lot of dec that is needed!

We wont get land next year and even if we do it will be shit, the SL team no longer give a shit about this game and are more interested in creating half built games/apps that they can use to bring in more cash in presales. Even the whales (who are propping this game up) are starting to sell their collections. No reason for new players to sign up as will need a couple of grand just to sort sps requirements and a few cards and it would take a century to grind that back. Games just being run into the ground at this point.

Would you say you were fairly bullish on Splinterlands going forwards then>?

Far from it at the moment, I have grave concerns over the way its been sidelined while they attempt to launch multiple other products despite the promises they made saying they wouldnt do that. 0 faith at this point tbh.

I was being sarcastic, if I don't laugh I'll cry!

I'm just glad I cashed out something from the game when things were better!

Yea i totally get that, been selling off a lot of stuff myself. Such a shsme because there was so much potential there and until they started fucking with the tokenomics it was holding up well this bear. I reckon it will last 1 maybe 2 years then it will be "just another failed crypto project" unless they make major changes.