You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moving to Portugal's already reduced my basic cost of living expenses by 60%!

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Ah yes the double edged sword of the parent/ in-law with a house dying - you lose a relative, but suddenly become financially independent!

I've deliberately NOT planned my retirement around the fact that I'm an only child in such a situation, seemed a bit rude, but the fact is at some point in the next decade it's pretty much inevitable I'll end up with another house too.

Probably best to just have one empty property, they do cost to maintain them!

Sort:  

Yes death is an inevitable thing. With my mother in law, her cancer situation right now, she is firmly focused on the possibilities hence our visit to the lawyer set for tomorrow. I'd say we're not so much planning around it, but planning for it as it's highly probably things will go that way. She's pragmatic and since the death of her husband, Faith's dad when he was 33, she has never shied away from dealing with the situations that arise due to terminal illness.

My wife and I are financially independent and have never asked for, nor taken, money from either of our parents and would never think to do so...However around here right now death is on the agenda through necessity, and therefore the other more practical discussions that result from it.

Sorry to hear that, but I guess all you can do is be pragmatic!

Yep, that's what we think too.