You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Engine launches witness p2p layer in 12 hours

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I enabled traffic monitoring on mine(currently a top 6 witness for engine so this should be maximum usage as long as you close the rpc port) and once the validation part starts(Around Feb 4 1 am UTC), I'll let you know what numbers I get. If you don't hear from me in about 24 hours from then, I probably forgot and just comment on this to ping me.

Sort:  

Alright, sounds good! Thanks.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I know it hasn't been a full day but there should be enough info to get all the info. Vnstat is pretty good with its estimates and it says about 800 MB/day and that seems about right if we use the average rate as staying constant. This is on a server with just the witness(though I do have my rpc port open). Nothing else going on.
Screen Shot 20210204 at 10.59.04 AM.png

If you are concerned about data usage, definitely turn off the RPC port. While normal usage for it shouldn't be too high, if used for purposes like we(NFTMart) use ours, the data usage on it could be immense. (Default port is 5000 for RPC, 5001 for P2P). An extra 30 GB of data shouldn't be too much in most scenarios but you know your situation best.


Screen Shot 20210204 at 11.01.21 AM.png

Here's our RPC. Almost all of the usage is onto our own services and so I didn't care about writing efficient code for that part that would use the least amount of data, just getting it done :)

Hmm, okay. That is definitely something to think about.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta