HIVE New User Tips: Some Common Questions

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

New user.png

Someone Help Please

If you are new to the Hive ecosystem, you may be unfamiliar with a few of the concepts employed here. There are numerous things that confused me when I first started here:

  • What is proof of stake?
  • What is Leo or Hive Power?
  • What is curation?
  • What is a tribe?
  • Why does it take so long to power down Hive or Leo?
  • What is a delegation?

These were all questions I was asking myself, so I figure... why not answer them for others now that I know!

There are other more encompassing "starter guides" for using Hive, but I just figured I might as well jump on a few questions that I had to see if I can help someone out scrolling through articles today.

Hive logo.png

Proof Of Stake:

This is the concept that drives the entire ecosystem here on Hive.

The Proof of Stake (PoS) concept states that a person can mine or validate block transactions according to how many coins they hold. This means that the more coins owned by a miner, the more mining power they have. - Investopedia <

So essentially a blockchain using POS allows users to create value according to their existing holdings. This works much differently than Bitcoin's proof of work method that employs the use of miner power.

As you get more Hive and Leo and put them to work, you get more in return from engaging on the site!

Leo Finance Lazer eyes.jfif

Leo/Hive Power:

This was incredibly confusing to me at first, but is relatively simple. So in order to use the proof of work system, your tokens must be located on the blockchain. By powering up Leo and Hive you are putting those tokens into your "mining bag" (I just made that phrase up). As you power up more of the tokens, your likes become more valuable. If you are looking to be around long term, you should be powering up your stake regularly to build your presence.

Curation:

Curation is a little more complex than I would have thought. To begin with, it is the process of upvoting (or downvoting) content that generates value based on the amount of tokens you have powered up.

The complexity lies in the algorithm and rules that prevent the misuse of the curation process. We are given a certain amount of voting mana and that mana along with our stake produces the amount of value we see generated as curation rewards.

As you like more things, your voting mana drops and your likes become worth less and less. The mana recovers with time, but essentially we have enough voting mana to give out around 10 100% votes per day without losing out on value (I believe).

There are ways of weighting your votes to preserve mana using the LeoDex, but that is a bit more advanced than a beginner tip post needs to be.

Tribes:

This is a much less technical answer. Tribes are essentially the front-end that you are participating on. They are Dapps built on the Hive blockchain. Leo Finance is a tribe, as is Proof of Brain, etc.

The tribes have their own reward token that function the same way the Hive token does and by voting on articles that pertain to specific tribes, your voting mana will be taken from that Tribes total.

Being involved in a few tribes is a good way to diversify your Hive-engine tokens. There are brilliant people in every tribe and they range widely in topics discussed; be sure to check them all out and decide for yourself where you would enjoy posting most.

Powering Down:

This is a very lengthy process. It is essentially the process of you removing your stake from the blockchains "mining bag" and converting your holdings back to liquid form. When in liquid form they can obviously be sent and bought/sold in various marketplaces.

This process is undergoing a lot of renovations as people are wanting faster power down processes, but it can still take numerous weeks for your tokens to be returned to you in liquid form. Be sure you want to be in it for the long game before powering up because it does take a bit of time to return the tokens to you.

Delegation Explained:

Delegation is a wonderful concept and really helps new users build their stake on the site. It is essentially the leasing of your Hive/Leo Power to anyone of your choice. The tokens still belong to you, but the person who gets the delegation will have the "mining power" of the token until you unstake your delegation.

There are a lot of delegation contests run by existing users to help new users get their feet off the ground. I have run a few and will continue to do so, I want to see the ecosystem build and if my delegation can help out I would love that!

There you have it, there's some basics. Be sure to check out posts from the whales of the site for more in depth information, but I hope this was helpful!

If you enjoyed this article please feel free to reblog/rehive!

Leo author banner.jfif

@mariosfame gif once again, I love it

Leo Gif.gif

Links and Connections:
Follow me on Twitter: Rob_Minnick23
LeoFinance/HIVE : rob23
Join me on Torum: https://www.torum.com/signup?referral_code=robminnick23
Join Cake DeFi and get $30 in $DFI as a new user: https://pool.cakedefi.com/#?ref=187314
Noise.cash: rob23
Read.cash: R23
Join me on Publish0x: https://www.publish0x.com/?a=M7e587xqd2

Who I am:
My name is Rob and I am a college student doing my best to get involved in the crypto world. I have enjoyed blogging thus far and thank you for reading my article! Give me a follow and let’s build the community together through consistent engagement.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Well done Rob, something I need to learn more about myself is the curation and managing voting weight and mana, feel like I'm just upvoting whenever I feel like it and hardly ever adjust the weight. Also how staking different tokens affects it and voting on different front-ends?

Maybe not early beginner material but definitely important at some point I think..

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I agree with that, I am still learning myself. I am copying whales on the site without having a real clue as to why they do what they do honestly. I will learn this myself

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah watching how others (whales or just more experienced members) do things can be very useful in learning how to go about things here. How do you see what curation strategy someone has though? What strategy have you come up with thusfar, would love to hear :-)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Missing from this:

  1. What is Resource credits, how they recover over time and how to get more of them?
  2. Tribes: Make sure to include the specific tag if you want it to be included for rewards

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Great additions! Thank you as well for the promotion. Really appreciate it

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Two Tools for newbies. The second one can use the reward from the faucet to ensure they get payouts even if they don't get much votes in the beginning.

  1. https://giftgiver.site/ for RC delegation and HIVE/HP faucet
  2. Dustsweeper to ensure their some of the payouts. FAQ for it is at https://peakd.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-s-faq

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I had not even heard of these, checking into them now!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I am glad you learned something new. Both of them will help people get off to earning some rewards. The HP delegation is not to be abused and its more to supplement the user until they get enough HP from their payouts.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Keep on adding more info to this , I would love to see more posts similar to this one .

Great job :)

!WINE

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Much appreciated! It's a start!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Cool FAQs man. Very helpful for all the new people who joined the platform. As a new hive user, one must strive to learn more about the system bit by bit, every single day. It's a process that takes time but it's worth it.

My value add to this post: https://developers.hive.io/glossary/#glossary-chain-basics

The above resource is a great place to get the one-line definition of the terms used in Hive's ecosystem.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oooo this is great, thank you for adding this. I think this has all the key terms inside of it!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah man. It helped me to understand the technical mumbo jumbo those Hive oldies and Devs use. 😂

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It is a bit complex LOL, I'm learning every day and improvising as I go honestly

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Me too! Sometimes it feels like I still don't know anything 🤣🤣

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is definitely helpful for newcomers. Well done!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you very much!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Just to add:

For newbies, it is almost impossible to understand everything at a go. You need to spend more time here and ask questions. Fortunately, leofinance is an active community and you can receive all the help you need.

My journey was quite smooth because I had a good support system.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well said, I wanted advice added to this post and this was a fantastic point. There's no way to know everything, but there is going to be someone here who can help out.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


Your post was promoted by @jfang003