You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can Activist Investors Exist On Blockchains?

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Well written post on an important topic @joshman! This sums it up, for me:

"What you do need to do, is take a long term view. To focus on creating value and not extracting it."

While I haven't written any more about it in a long time, some of my first posts were on the topic of adding value. And what that meant to me from my career, most of which was involved in building business relationships. Foundational to these are mutually beneficial transactions, i.e. win-win scenarios. Otherwise, you can kiss long-term good-bye ...

"As a stakeholder, if I lose, we all lose."

Absolutely. I hope to see the day when those of a similar mindset to yours and those you list are clearly present in much, much greater numbers ... Resulting in a corresponding (or greater!) decrease of those on the other side of the "ledger" ...


P.S. Downvoted your own post?! And, in so doing, reducing the payout to your chosen beneficiary? (@snoochieboochies?) None of my business I suppose, but did notice these details ...

P.P.S. An edit assist (unless I am missing something ...):

"In my mind, it is a lack of common sense with regard to business that leads someone to take the latter former approach."

Sort:  

THE EDITORIAL BOUNTY GOES TO @ROLEEROB!

giphy 1.gif


@snoochieboochies is my tertiary alt. I try not to put all my eggs in one basket, so once my account gets orca-sized I spin up another. Just putting some of those rewards up for grabs for more worthy posts. A vanity move? You can decide for yourself! :-D

"Back in" for a bit to close out a long day @joshman, you have provided me a blessing to end it with a pleasant surprise. Lots of surprises these days, but pleasant ones are in short supply ... Thank you!

Not claiming humor to be my "strong suit," I was nonetheless tempted to have a little fun and joke about refreshing your memory that upvoting comments was "outlawed" with the EIP changes in HF 21 / 22 ...😉

Seriously, with whatever pull you have with the "big boys upstairs," you may choose to use your influence to convince them of the need to make additional changes in HF 24, whenever that is done. I think encouraging engagement on our posts is undervalued "in here." And changes should be made to the EIP to set that right ...

As a key focus of your post is on adding value to our blockchain, I think good exchanges on our posts really increase the value of them. Particularly when they generate civil and respectful exchanges "in the market place of ideas" ...

With the EIP changes in HF 21 / 22, every indicator I have seen indicates they actually reduced this valuable aspect of engagement, rather than improve it.


P.S. Thanks for the input on your alternative accounts. And your thoughts behind creating them. While I have many "free" accounts I could create, I have never yet decided what I would do with more than one. Except the possibility crossing my mind occasionally about a new community. We don't have nearly enough ... 😉

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment