# 876 - Canadian Wildlife - Part 1

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Today we will start a new series called "Canadian Wildlife".

The Canadian Royal Mint is known by its high quality work and the enormous number of commemorative coins issued each year. Among these commemoratives we find many, individual or in series, under the theme "wildlife".

Canada, with its vast lands and seas, is the home of a varied fauna and that will be showed in this series.

I will try to post land animals, sea animals and birds, in that order.

The first is a 2004 $2 "Proud Polar Bear".

Issued jointly by the Royal Canadian Mint and Canada Post, the $2 Proud Polar Bear Stamp and Coin Set contains the first single metal two dollar Canadian coin. This coin is unusual in that it carries two maple leaf privy marks.

It weights 8.8g with silver purity of 92.5% and Proof finish. The mintage was 12,607 units.

The reverse shows a bear facing right and it was engraved by Brent Townsend.

20200727_213749.jpg

20200727_213824.jpg

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, reblog and advise me.

Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

After patriotic designs, natural wildlife would be next favorite designs. I look forward to this series, @ronavel.
Have a great day, and take care 🥰🌺🤙

Thank you. I have many wildlife Canadian coins and this series will be a long one...

Posted Using LeoFinance

I only have one complete set of Canadian Wildlife series... the Birds of Prey! Oh and yeas, the Bison series too! So I think I may join you at some point. 🥰🌺🤙

I like that series, wish I had bought some when I was heavy stacking and the premiums where lower!

Posted Using LeoFinance

It is good to see you here! After months showing American commemoratives, this is the first of a long series of Canadian commemoratives.

Posted Using LeoFinance

What a beautiful country Canada @ronavel, interesting with the two maple leafs on the Reverse!!

I don't know why they call it a privy mint mark. It was minted by RCM...

Posted Using LeoFinance

Interesting.....I wonder why they chose to add this mint mark?

I like the polar bear, and it is interesting about the 2 maple leaves. Any idea why they did that? Thanks for sharing!

No idea. Sometimes they use privy mint marks but I don't know the why...

Posted Using LeoFinance

Interesting.......have a good night @ronavel!

This design has been around since 1996, so this Sterling silver version after only eight years. Would have though it would be issued for 2006 for the Tenth year if issue. My First time seeing this coin and quite the low mintage too, Thanks for sharing @ronavel