# 937 - Ships on Coins - Part 21

in LeoFinance4 years ago

I am very fond of ships on coins.

I know that many people share this fondness. I have a few coins depicting ships.

So, I will post a series called "Ships on Coins" and I will show all the coins that I have on this theme.

There will be no order of presentation or country of issue. As the coins are stored in several places, I will simply search on each place and publish those that I found.

The twenty first is a 2007-P $1 "Jamestown".

Along with a $5 gold coin, the 2007 Jamestown Silver Dollar was issued to mark the 400th anniversary of the settlement at Jamestown, Virginia. Three ships, the Susan Constant, Godspeed, and Discovery carried 105 settlers to the New World to establish the first permanent English settlement in what would become America.

The coin was made of 90% silver and weights 26.73g.

The reverse features an image of the Susan Constant, Godspeed, and Discovery .

The reverse was designed by Susan Gamble and sculpted by Charles Vickers.

20200827_134917.jpg

20200827_135028.jpg

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, reblog and advise me.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Thank you, my love!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I see the fourth ship in the background. There is a BU MS69, 2007-P $1 "Jamestown", Modern Commemoration Silver Dollar in the Local Coin Shop display case. It is one of my favorites, in this Modern US Silver Dollars Series. What would be a good price? Thanks again, ronavel.

You did not say, but I suppose that this coin was graded by PCGS or NGC. An average value would be around $42.
I could not find this fourth ship on the coin. Historically they were three ships...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I went to the LCS today and forgot to look. Yes, I think it is PCGS MS69. Isn't that a ship under the In God We Trust.

Yes, there is a ship on the obverse. I was only looking at the reverse...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

There was some dramatic TV series on this place wasn't there?

I don't remember, but I am not a great TV fan.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Three brave souls...and three tall ships destined for history @ronavel!!😀

They could die from religious motives in England or die by starvation, diseases or winter in America. Though decision...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

So very true ...better to go forward to America...