You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: True cost

in LeoFinancelast year

I don't know where it would fit in at school, there's so much nonsense crammed in there already and yet more stuff that "should be taught in school".

And like many other things taught in school it might not even stick beyond passing a test anyway.

It took me a few years but I finally managed to convince the outlaws that buying each other crap because "you have to have something to open on the day" (which was a borderline terrifying obsession my mother in law had, she seemed legitimately shocked when I responded with "no you don't") was pointless, and eventually my sister in lasw backed me up (she's a very neat and tidy person and I tyhink was struggling to find places for things) and ever since the kids get presents (usually money in a card for mine lately) and the adults buy each family lotto tickets or scratchies (satisfies the need of especially mother in law to give a present but isn't a thing, and hey maybe at least one of us might solve financial problems).

My parents on the other hand I let them get away with whatever because we see them 1-3 times a year.

On the one hand I don't know why anyone would go into debt for a holiday but I guess like my relatives everyone has this firm idea of what Christmas "should" look like and are determined to stick to it at any and all cost.

Sort:  

I don't know where it would fit in at school,

Yeah, and besides, they don't get much teaching done anyway, judging by the level at which school children read, spell and write. The world's fucked anyway, so it won't matter in a hundred years, if that long.

I've given one ounce silver rounds as gifts in the past...I guess I see more value in giving something that has value and it has prompted people to start stacking also. So, a double win. I buy what I need during the year so have no need for whatever nutbaggery people think I'll like at Christmas time.