You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dropped tools of the trade

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I don't know if I can apply the JOAT term to myself seeing as I can do a lot of things in a few specific areas and am not good at any of them XD

I would be perfectly happy to let my dishwashing skills fall by the wayside if it meant I could use the time spent washing up on developing art/writing/storytelling skills instead (as much as I like to say that I hesitate to call myself a writer or artist or that I use the term loosely I know I'm half-decent at those things). Alas, we do not have a dishwasher XD (I'm it x_x)

Maybe you should figure out resource optimisation in life, might suddenly free up a lot more time to develop other skills you might be more interested in ;D

I don't actually have an answer for your question as I tend to just do things because I want to do them/find them fun, not because they'll give me an obvious benefit/edge in anything.

Sort:  

I have no idea at what point I would call myself a writer - perhaps when the earnings of it are larger than the "trainer" earnings? Dunno. I am better at writing than training though :D

I always feel that if I use too many tools, I lose touch with the skills of something. It is kind of like setting automatic votes, I think those who do end up reading less.

If you write then you're a writer.

One point of contention is whether or not you're a good writer XD

you're a good writer xP and I still think your tagline should be "What I find interesting is..." XD

Another (which goes across pretty much anything people can freelance or hobby) is when you get to call yourself "professional".

Given how self-reflective you are it could be entirely that you're feeling like you'd somehow lose touch with skills if you didn't keep manually doing them but I feel like it's more of a tactile thing for you and you just like the feel of doing any given thing that you'd lose if you automated/used a power tool for it XP

I know people that claim they still read stuff they autovote. I know for a fact that I wouldn't if I was autovoting because when I automate something it's specifically so it gets done with little to no input from me and you kind of need input for engagement right XD (which is why I don't autovote)