You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Half a Unicorn, No Bunny

in LeoFinance3 years ago

If there was a game like Splinterlands with the dynamics of Magic (I'm pretty sure there is such a thing as I seem to recall someone else mentioning it once upon a time some time back) there would probably be a lot more Magic players involved or that would probably get sucked in.

Not to say that Magic players wouldn't play it, youngest quite enjoys it XD Oldest prefers the dynamic shenanigans of Magic and while I did buy him the starter pack for Splinterlands too, he didn't really get into it.

Sort:  

This is true. It would be amazing to have a game like Magic on the blockchain.

I'm not sure how hard it is to do something like that because Magic is a very complex game, but it would be great indeed.

I actually fear for my life if that ever happens because I believe I'd lose countless hours to that lol

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Bahahahahhahahaaaa XD

I can actually relate, from an investment perspective it was dumb of me to not get into Splinterlands in the alpha stage because I was worried about that exact same thing. Fortunately with daily quests there's a sane stop point XD

If you were making money from playing a game you enjoyed that would be a whole different work/life balance issue wouldn't it XD

I have no idea how MGT works, but I wonder if you include the dynamics of the Splinterlands economy, I reckon it would be pretty attractive. Though, that side of the "game" is quite different.

Magic is very complex. The closest analogy is actually Pokémon. Let me give you a simple example in depth.

An SL card has 4 stats. Health, Armor, Speed and Attack Type. Factorial 4 is 24. So 24 possible flat permutations using these 4 alone. But each stat has 10-20 possible values. Factorial 10 is 3628800. Factorial 20 is an 18 digit number so I won’t try and write it.

A Pokémon has 6 stats. HP, Attack, Defense, Special Attack, Special Defense, Speed. Factorial 6 is 720. Each of these stats can get values from 0 to 600. Factorial of 600 is essentially infinite :)

Oh I almost forgot, my apologies! In addition Pokémon does have abilities and hidden abilities. That’s 2 unique stats. It also have friendship and egg group. Oh… not to mention, Pokemon evolve as well.

Yeah so you see the complexities :)

And that’s considered rather “simple”.

I guess at least with the paper versions, there isn't much of a bot market :)